AACR Health Policy Subcommittee 

The AACR Health Policy Subcommittee develops and promotes policies and member education initiatives that will foster the closer integration of clinical practice and cancer research.

The Health Policy Subcommittee (HPS) of the Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee was created to address policy issues and member education initiatives that will foster the closer integration of, and clarify the evolving relationship between, cancer research and clinical practice.

Focus areas of the subcommittee include comparative effectiveness research (CER), health information technology (HIT), patient-reported outcomes (PROs) and patient participation in clinical research.

Subcommittee Documents

Cosigned Letters

Subcommittee Members     

Gilbert S. Omenn, MD, PhD,  Chairperson
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan

Amy P. Abernethy, MD, PhD 
Duke University School of Medicine
Durham, North Carolina

Karen H. Antman, MD
Boston University School of Medicine
Boston, Massachusetts

William S. Dalton, MD, PhD
M2Gen, Personalized Medicine Institute at Moffitt Cancer Center
Tampa, Florida

Mark A. Israel, MD
Dartmouth Norris Cotton Cancer Center
Lebanon, New Hampshire

Richard E. Kouri, PhD
North Carolina State University
Raleigh, North Carolina

Thomas J. Lynch Jr., MD
Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, Connecticut

Peter J. Neumann, ScD
Tufts Medical Center
Boston, Massachusetts

Steven R. Patierno, PhD
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, North Carolina

Scott D. Ramsey, MD, PhD
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, Washington

Mark E. Robson, MD
Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center
New York, New York

Deborah Schrag, MD, MPH
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School
Boston, Massachusetts

Ellen V. Sigal, PhD
Friends of Cancer Research
Washington, D.C.

Sean R. Tunis, MD, MSc
Center for Medical Technology Policy (CMTP)
Baltimore, Maryland

Contact Information

Shimere Williams Sherwood, PhD
Associate Director of Science Policy
AACR Office of Science Policy and Government Affairs
Phone: 202-898-6499
Email or call

Top of page