Regulatory Science and Policy Subcommittee

The AACR established the Regulatory Science and Policy Subcommittee in March of 2011 to support the FDA’s endeavor to modernize the regulatory process and accommodate the fast pace of innovation in science and technology. The subcommittee leads the AACR’s efforts to facilitate scientific exchange among stakeholders from academia, industry, advocacy, and government to unleash the true potential of regulatory science to serve patients. In order for the latest research to inform regulators, regulatory guidelines and regulatory policy, regulators must keep abreast with developments in cancer research. Scientists also benefit from an understanding of the regulatory process, which can facilitate their own research programs and speed the translation of discoveries into new and improved interventions.

The subcommittee is dedicated to bringing together and providing an open forum for stakeholder engagement. It is also actively engaged in the development and implementation of programmatic and policy initiatives to improve the development, evaluation and regulation of cancer drugs, biologics and diagnostics.

Signature initiatives of the subcommittee include:

Subcommittee Members     

Click here for a printer-friendly version of the subcommittee roster

  • Victor E. Velculescu, MD, PhD, Chairman
  • James L. Abbruzzese, MD, FACP
  • Kenneth C. Anderson, MD
  • José Baselga, MD, PhD
  • William S. Dalton, PhD, MD
  • Raymond N. DuBois, MD, PhD
  • Howard J. Fingert, MD, FACP
  • Susan M. Galbraith, MD, PhD
  • Judy E. Garber, MD, MPH
  • Levi A. Garraway, MD, PhD
  • Richard B. Gaynor, MD
  • Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD
  • Sandra J. Horning, MD
  • Pasi A. Jänne, MD, PhD
  • Peter F. Lebowitz, MD, PhD
  • John E. Leonard, PhD
  • Thomas J. Lynch, Jr, MD
  • Mace L. Rothenberg, MD
  • David M. Reese, MD
  • Eric H. Rubin, MD
  • Charles L. Sawyers, MD
  • Mehdi Shahidi, MD
  • Ellen V. Sigal, PhD
  • Suzanne L. Topalian, MD
  • Laura J. van't Veer, PhD

AACR Staff Contact

Anna Sadusky, PhD, Director of Regulatory Science and Policy

AACR Office of Science Policy and Government Affairs
Email or call 202-898-6499

Top of page