Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee 

For more than 25 years, the Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee has been the AACR's principal means for devising and implementing strategies to influence important biomedical research-related public policy issues. The committee analyzes public issues of concern to cancer researchers and focuses on mechanisms for expediting cancer research. Its members periodically visit legislators in Washington, D.C., to make the case for increased funding for all forms of biomedical research, submit testimony to Congress, government agencies and advisory boards, and help shape special sessions to educate members of Congress and their staff about important issues affecting cancer research.


The president of the AACR appoints members to the Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee based upon their interest and expertise. Members serve on the committee for a three-year renewable term. The committee ordinarily meets once or twice a year, often in Washington, D.C.  It is staffed by the AACR Office of Science Policy and Government Affairs in Washington, D.C.

2016-2017 Members     

George Demetri, MD – Chairman

Frederick R. Appelbaum, MD
Steven D. Averbuch, MD
Anna D. Barker, PhD
Mary C. Beckerle, PhD
A. William Blackstock, Jr., MD
John F. Dipersio, MD, PhD
Judy E. Garber, MD, MPH
Stephan A. Grupp, MD, PhD
Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD
Roy A. Jensen, MD
Karen E. Knudsen, PhD
Michelle M. Le Beau, PhD
Patricia M. LoRusso, DO
Frank McCormick, PhD, FRS
William G. Nelson, MD, PhD
Gilbert S. Omenn, MD, PhD
Steven R. Patierno, PhD
Edith A. Perez, MD
Steven T. Rosen, MD
Eric H. Rubin, MD
Ellen V. Sigal, PhD
Robert W. Sobol, PhD
Dan Theodorescu, MD, PhD
Laura J. van ’t Veer, PhD
Victor E. Velculescu, MD, PhD
Geoffrey M. Wahl, PhD
George J. Weiner, MD
Louis M. Weiner, MD
Cheryl L. Willman, MD
Douglas Yee, MD
Robert C. Young, MD
José Baselga, MD, PhD, FAACR (ex officio)
Michael A. Caligiuri, MD (ex officio)
Nancy E. Davidson, MD (ex officio)

Science Policy Subcommittees    

The Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee oversees three subcommittees engaged in specific science policy matters.

  • The Regulatory Science and Policy Subcommittee was established in March 2011 with the goal of supporting the efforts of FDA to modernize the regulatory process and accommodate the fast pace of innovation in science and technology.
  • The Tobacco and Cancer Subcommittee was established in 2009 to foster scientific and policy initiatives to reduce the incidence of disease and mortality due to tobacco use.
  • The Health Policy Subcommittee was established in 2011 to develop and promote policies and member education initiatives that will foster the closer integration of clinical practice and cancer research.

Top of page

Dr. Michelle M. LeBeau