• Home
  • About Us
  • AACR President-Elect Candidate Biography: Guillermina Lozano, PhD

​President-Elect Candidate: Guillermina Lozano, PhD

Research Interests: Cancer genetics; molecular biology; tumor suppressor genes; the p53 tumor suppressive mechanisms; amplification of the Mdm2 and Mdm4 genes; mouse tumor models; apoptosis.

Current Affiliations: Professor and Chair, Department of Genetics, Division of Basic Science Research; Mattie Allen Fair Endowed Research Chair; Director, Genetically Engineered Mouse Facility; Director, Molecular Cytogenetics Facility (MCF); and Co-Director, Cancer Genetics and Epigenetics Program, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX; Member, The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences, Houston, TX.

Previous Positions: Director, Institute for Basic Science (2013-2016); Co-Director, Sequencing and Microarray Facility (2012-2016); Director, Center for Genetics and Genomics (2007-2017); Ad Interim Chair (2007-2008), Professor and Chief (2000-2006), Professor and Geneticist (1998-2006), Associate Professor and Associate Geneticist (1994-1998), and Assistant Professor and Assistant Geneticist (1988-1994), Department of Molecular Genetics; Co-Director, Genes and Development Program (2007-2013); Director, Genomics Facility (2007-2011); Professor and Chair (2006-2008), Department of Cancer Genetics; Co-Director, Murine Array and Affymetrix Facility (2000-2007); and Director, Transgenic Mouse Facility (1988-2000), University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX.

Postdoctoral Training: Postdoctoral Fellow in Molecular Biology (1985-1987), Princeton University, Princeton, NJ.

Selected Honors, Awards, and Non-AACR Service: Recipient, The Charles A. LeMaistre, MD Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Award, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (2017); Elected Member, National Academy of Science (2017); Recipient, Paul E. Darlington Mentoring Award, The University of Texas Graduate School of Biomedical Sciences (2015); Elected Member, National Academy of Medicine (2014); Member, The Academy of Medicine, Engineering, and Science of Texas (2014); Recipient, Barbara Bowman Distinguished Texas Geneticist Award, Texas Genetics Society (2014); Recipient, Women in Science, BioHouston, Inc. (2013); Member, External Advisory Board, The University of Kansas Cancer Center (2013-2017); Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) (2011); Member, Board of Scientific Overseers, The Jackson Laboratory (2007-2010); Mattie Allen Fair Research Chair (2004-Present) and Anise J. Sorrell Professor of Molecular Genetics (2000-2004), University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center; Member, Board of Scientific Counselors-Subcommittee B, National Institutes of Health (2002-2007); Recipient, Past State President’s Award, Texas Federation of Business & Professional Women’s Clubs (1996); Recipient, Faculty Achievement Award in Basic Research, University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center (1994, 2010).

Selected AACR Service, Honors, and Awards: Chair, Minorities in Cancer Research (MICR) Jane Cooke Wright Memorial Lectureship Selection Committee (2016); Co-Chair (2016), Member (2011, 2012), and Chair (2006), Annual Meeting Program Committee; Chair, Distinguished Lectureship on the Science of Cancer Health Disparities Award Selection Committee (2015-2016); Member, NextGen Grants for Transformative Cancer Research Scientific Review Committee (2015-2017); Member, Board of Directors (2014-2017); Member, Tellers Committee (2013-2014); Recipient, AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Memorial Lectureship (2013); Chair, AACR Basic Cancer Research Fellowships Committee (2012); Member, Scientific Advisory Committee, Stand Up To Cancer (2012-Present); Member, AACR Cancer Progress Report Writing Committee (2012); Recipient, AACR-Minorities in Cancer Research Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship (2011); Member, Publications Committee (2011-2014); Chair (2011) and Member (2010), Laboratory Research Awards Committee; Member, Kirk A. Landon-AACR Prize for Basic Cancer Research Committee (2008); Member, Grants Committee (2005-2007); Chair, WICR-Brigid G. Leventhal Scholar Awards Committee (2002); Member, AACR-Cornelius P. Rhoads Memorial Award Committee (2002); Member, Women in Cancer Research Council (WICR) (2001-2004); Editorial Board Member, Molecular Cancer Research (2002-Present); Member, Minority Issues Committee (1998-2000); Member, Gertrude B. Elion Cancer Research Award Committee (1998).

Education: PhD, Biochemistry, Rutgers University and the University of Medicine and Dentistry of New Jersey, Piscataway, NJ (1986); BS, Biology/Mathematics, Pan American University, Edinburg, TX (1979).