Contact Us

AACR Office of Science Policy and Government Affairs 

1425 K Street, NW, Suite 250

Washington, DC 20005
202-898-6499 (Phone)
202-898-0966 (Fax)


Jon Retzlaff, MBA, MPA
Managing Director of Science Policy and Government Affairs

Before joining the AACR in 2010 as the managing director of science policy and government affairs, Mr. Retzlaff led the health and biomedical practice for a government relations firm in D.C. Prior to these two positions, he served as legislative director for the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology from 2004-2007.

Additionally, he worked for the National Institutes of Health, first as a program analyst within the Office of the Director's legislative office; then as a senior legislative advisor to the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke; and finally as the executive officer of the National Library of Medicine. Mr. Retzlaff was assigned to the House (1998) and Senate (2000-2001) appropriations subcommittees on labor, health and human services, education and related agencies on health research funding issues, as well as within the Office of the Secretary for Legislation at the Department of Health and Human Services. He entered the Federal Government as a Presidential Management Intern in 1993 and completed a rotation in the Office of Senator Herb Kohl (D-Wis.) during his training.

Mr. Retzlaff earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Minnesota, a master's degree in public administration from Indiana University and a master's degree in business administration from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Mary Lee Watts, MPH, RD
Director of Government Relations and Advocacy

Shimere Williams Sherwood, PhD
Associate Director of Health Policy


Anna Sadusky, PhD
Associate Director of Regulatory Science and Policy


James Ingram II
Senior Manager of Legislative Affairs


Carl Wonders, PhD
Senior Manager of Science Policy Communications


Nicole Boschi, PhD
Regulatory Science and Policy Analyst


Dash Delan
Legislative Affairs Coordinator
Karen Russell Mills
Administrative Manager of Survivor and Patient Advocacy


Serita Henderson
Senior Administrative Coordinator