Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee 

For more than 25 years, the Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee has been the AACR's principal means for devising and implementing strategies to influence important biomedical research-related public policy issues. The committee analyzes public issues of concern to cancer researchers and focuses on mechanisms for expediting cancer research. Its members periodically visit legislators in Washington, D.C., to make the case for increased funding for all forms of biomedical research, submit testimony to Congress, government agencies and advisory boards, and help shape special sessions to educate members of Congress and their staff about important issues affecting cancer research.


The president of the AACR appoints members to the Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee based upon their interest and expertise. Members serve on the committee for a three-year renewable term. The committee ordinarily meets once or twice a year, often in Washington, D.C.  It is staffed by the AACR Office of Science Policy and Government Affairs in Washington, D.C.

2018-2019 Members

(Year in parenthesis indicates the year when the member's term expires)

George D. Demetri, MD (2019)
Committee Chairperson
Ludwig Center at Harvard
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA

Lucile L. Adams-Campbell, PhD (2020)
Professor of Oncology; Associate Dean for Community Health and Outreach
Georgetown Lombardi Comprehensive Cancer Center
Washington, DC
Frederick R. Appelbaum, MD (2019)
Executive Director and President
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA
Alan Ashworth, PhD (2020)
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
San Francisco, CA
Steven D. Averbuch, MD (2019)
Vice President; Head of Precision Medicine
Bristol-Myers Squibb Co.
Princeton, NJ
Anna D. Barker, PhD (2020)
Co-Director, Complex Adaptive Systems
Arizona State University
Scottsdale, AZ
Lisa H. Butterfield, PhD (2020)
Professor of Medicine, Surgery, and Immunology
UPMC Hillman Cancer Center
Pittsburgh, PA
Kenneth H. Cowan, MD, PhD (2020)
Fred & Pamela Buffett Cancer Center
Omaha, NE
John F. Dipersio, MD, PhD (2019)
Chief, Division of Oncology
Washington University School of Medicine McDonnell Genome Institute
Saint Louis, MO
H. Shelton Earp, III, MD (2020)
UNC Lineberger Comprehensive Cancer Center
Chapel Hill, NC
Peter D. Emanuel, MD (2020)
UAMS Winthrop P. Rockefeller Cancer Institute
Little Rock, AR
B. Mark Evers, MD (2020)
Professor, Department of Surgery
University of Kentucky Markey Cancer Center
Lexington, KY
Judy E. Garber, MD, MPH, FAACR (2019)
Director, Center for Cancer Genetics and Prevention
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA
Stanton L. Gerson, MD (2020)
Case Comprehensive Cancer Center
Cleveland, OH

Joe W. Gray, PhD, FAACR (2020)
Gordon Moore Endowed Chair, Department of Biomedical Engineering
Oregon Health & Science University
Portland, OR
Lee M. Greenberger, PhD (2020)
Chief Scientific Officer
The Leukemia & Lymphoma Society
Rye Brook, NY
Roy S. Herbst, MD, PhD (2019)
Ensign Professor of Medicine
Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, CT
Chanita Hughes-Halbert, PhD (2020)
Professor and Endowed Chair, Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences
Medical University of South Carolina Hollings Cancer Center
Charleston, SC
Roy A. Jensen, MD (2020)
University of Kansas Cancer Center
Kansas City, KS
Thomas W. Kensler, PhD (2020)
Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Chemical Biology
University of Pittsburgh
Pittsburgh, PA
Steven K. Libutti, MD (2020)
Rutgers Cancer Institute of New Jersey
New Brunswick, NJ
Patricia M. LoRusso, DO (2019)
Associate Director of Innovative Medicine; Professor of Medicine
Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, CT
Christine M. Lovly, MD, PhD (2020)
Assistant Professor of Medicine and Cancer Biology
Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Nashville, TN
Sean J. Mulvihill, MD (2020)
Associate Vice President for Payer Strategy
University of Utah
Salt Lake City, UT
Augusto C. Ochoa, MD (2020)
Director of Immunotherapy
Louisiana State University Health Sciences Center
New Orleans, LA
Gilbert S. Omenn, MD, PhD (2020)
Professor of Internal Medicine, Genetics, and Public Health
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Edith A. Perez, MD (2020)
Vice President, US Medical Affairs of BioOncology
Genentech, Inc.
South San Francisco, CA
David R. Piwnica-Worms, MD, PhD (2020)
Chair, Department of Cancer Systems Imaging
MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX
Brian M. Rivers, PhD (2020)
Director, Cancer Program; Associate Professor Department of Community Health and Preventative Medicine
Morehouse School of Medicine
Atlanta, GA
Eric H. Rubin, MD (2020)
Senior Vice President and Therapeutic Area Head Oncology Early Development
North Wales, PA
Ellen V. Sigal, PhD (2019)
Chairperson and Founder
Friends of Cancer Research
Washington, DC
Robert W. Sobol, PhD (2019)
Point Clear Charities Professor of Oncologic Sciences
University of South Alabama
Mitchell Cancer Institute
Mobile, AL
Eduardo M. Sotomayor, MD (2020)
Director, GW Cancer Center
George Washington University
Washington, DC
Roger Stupp, MD (2020)
Associate Director of Strategic Initiatives
Robert H. Lurie Comprehensive Cancer
Center of Northwestern University
Chicago, IL
Dan Theodorescu, MD, PhD (2020)
University of Colorado Cancer Center
Aurora, CO
Laura J. van ’t Veer, PhD (2019)
Angela and Shu Kai Chan Endowed Chair in Cancer Research
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center
San Francisco, CA
Victor E. Velculescu, MD, PhD (2019)
Professor of Oncology; Co-Director of Cancer Biology
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Robert H. Vonderheide, MD, PhD (2020)
Abramson Cancer Center
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA
Geoffrey M. Wahl, PhD, FAACR (2019)
Daniel and Martina Lewis Chair; Professor, Gene Expression Laboratory
Salk Institute
La Jolla, CA
George J. Weiner, MD (2019)
University of Iowa Holden Comprehensive Cancer Center
Iowa City, IA
Cheryl L. Willman, MD (2019)
Director and Chief Executive Officer
University of New Mexico Comprehensive Cancer Center
Albuquerque, NM
Robert A. Winn, MD (2020)
Associate Vice Chancellor for Community-Based Practice;
University of Illinois Cancer Center
Chicago, IL
Douglas Yee, MD (2020)
University of Minnesota Masonic Cancer Center
Minneapolis, MN
Robert C. Young, MD (2019)
RCY Medicine
Philadelphia, PA

Elizabeth M. Jaffee, MD (2018)
ex officio; AACR President 2018-2019
Deputy Director
Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
Baltimore, MD

Michael A. Caligiuri, MD (2018)
ex officio; AACR President 2017-2018
President and Physician-in-Chief
City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
Duarte, CA
Nancy E. Davidson, MD, FAACR (2018)
ex officio; AACR President 2016-2017
Senior Vice President and Director, Clinical Research Division
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA

Science Policy Subcommittees    

The Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee oversees three subcommittees engaged in specific science policy matters.

  • The Regulatory Science and Policy Subcommittee was established in March 2011 with the goal of supporting the efforts of FDA to modernize the regulatory process and accommodate the fast pace of innovation in science and technology.
  • The Tobacco and Cancer Subcommittee was established in 2009 to foster scientific and policy initiatives to reduce the incidence of disease and mortality due to tobacco use.
  • The Health Policy Subcommittee was established in 2011 to develop and promote policies and member education initiatives that will foster the closer integration of clinical practice and cancer research.

Top of page

Dr. Michelle M. LeBeau