Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition

This free session will help undergraduate and post-baccalaureate students explore various educational and career options in the cancer field, and provide an opportunity for students to present their research and compete for prizes.

Winners of the Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition at the AACR Annual Meeting will be presented with Margaret Foti Foundation Undergraduate Prizes for Cancer Research, which reward excellence in research conducted and presented by undergraduate students.

Learn more about Dr. Margaret Foti.

Judging is based on the student abstract, research content of the poster and on the ability of the student to effectively answer questions about the work during the poster presentation.

The First Place Foti Prize carries an award of $1,500 towards participation in the following year's AACR Annual Meeting. Second ($300) and third place ($200) prizes are also awarded.

Winners of the 12th Annual Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition

AACR Annual Meeting 2017
Saturday, April 1, 2017
Washington, D.C.

First Place
Sabrina Wang
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, Maryland

Second Place
Elanora Dovat
Pennsylvania State University
State College, Pennsylvania


Third Place
Alexander Girgis
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, Michigan



Honorable Mention
Marsha-Kay Hutchinson
Bethesda, MD
Sarah Choung                
Univeristy of Southern California
Los Angeles, CA

Emily King                             
Bethesda, MD
Alena Gladwin    
Translational Genomics Research Institute
Phoenix, AZ
Jennifer Li    
Stanford University
Stanford, CA
Naveen Mallangada      
Stony Brook University
Stony Brook, NY
Leah Henry                 
The Catholic University of America
Washington, D.C.
Seth Sereff                        
University of Louisville
Louisville, KY
Sayeh Gorjifard                 
National Cancer Institute
Bethesda, MD
Maria Wissler                   
Princeton University
Princeton, NJ
People’s Choice
Larissa Wietlisbach
Georgetown University
Washington, D.C.

Mentoring Opportunities

Visit our website to learn more about volunteering as a judge for future Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competitions.