Ninth Annual Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition

Each year at the AACR Annual Meeting, the Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition brings together undergraduate students at all levels and students enrolled in post baccalaureate programs to explore educational and career pathways in cancer research, present their own research, and compete for prizes. We thank all our student participants, poster presenters and volunteer judges for making the 2014 session such a resounding success!

We congratulate the 2014 winners of the AACR-Gary J. Miller Undergraduate Student Prizes for Cancer and Cancer-Related Biomedical Research:

First Place: $1,500

(Prize applied toward attendance at the AACMalori LankenauR Annual Meeting 2015, Philadelphia, Pa.)

Malori Lankenau
Ohio State University
Overexpression of miR-3151 leads to direct deregulation of the TP53 pathway and is associated with BRAF mutations in malignant melanoma

Second Place: $300

Sabiha KazimSecond Place
University of South Florida
Selective nuclear export inhibitor KPT330 enhances the antitumor activity of gemcitabine in human pancreatic cancer

Sean Misek
Michigan State University
Mixed Lineage Kinase signaling is required for glioblastoma cell migration and invasion

Third Place: $200

Irvin MaThird Place
University of Nevada-Reno
Docosahexaenoic acid inhibits heat shock protein 90 complex and client proteins by reducing intracellular ATP levels in breast and lung cancer

Sujay Mehta
Ohio State University
Identification of microRNA-3662 as a novel tumor suppressor miR

Congratulations to the Top Ten Meritorious Honor Awardees:

Gabrielle L. Cahill
Nicholas P. Gill
Eli Grunblatt
Yinghui Jane E. Huang
Anand V.R. Kornepati
Jake N. Lichterman
Changchang Liu
Nicholas Pagani
Katharina Tatzel
Kevin J. Zhang

Congratulations to the People's Choice Award Winner:

Yinghui Jane E. Huang


We thank the following exceptional speakers for their participation:

Program Host
Kathleen W. Scotto, Ph.D.
Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey, New Brunswick, N.J.

Special Presentation: “Understanding Cancer”
Donald S. Coffey, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, Md.

Special Presentation: “Navigating the Annual Meeting”
Scott W. Lowe, Ph.D.
AACR Annual Meeting 2014 Program Committee Chairperson

Lead Judge of Poster Competition
Beverly Lyn-Cook, Ph.D.
FDA-National Center for Toxicological Research, Jefferson, Ariz.

Professional Development Panel and Q&A
José G. Treviño, M.D.
University of Florida, Gainesville, Fla.

Kerry L. Reed, Ph.D.
Northern Ontario School of Medicine, Lively, ON

Lascelles E. Lyn-Cook Jr., M.S.
University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences, Jefferson, Ark.

Yamicia D. Connor, Ph.D.
Harvard Medical School, Cambridge, Mass.

Remarks from 2014 First Place Miller Prize Winner
Moustafa Abdalla
University of Toronto, Toronto, ON, Canada


For those who are interested in attending next year's program on Saturday, April 18, 2015, in Philadelphia, Pa., registration materials will be available starting in December 2014. Or, email for more information.

2014 student participants enjoyed:

  • A panel discussion led by young scientific investigators ranging from graduate students to postdocs, who addressed issues related to scientific research and career development;

  • A keynote address from a prominent cancer researcher, who inspired students to consider a career in cancer research;

  • A competitive poster session that awarded first, second, and third place prizes for outstanding student research; and

  • Access to all AACR Annual Meeting scientific sessions, posters, exhibits and much more!

Mentoring Opportunities:

Visit our website to learn more about volunteering as a judge for an upcoming Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition.


Please contact us via email, or call toll-free, 866-423-3965.