Carlos Arteaga, MD

Carlos Arteaga, MD
Director, Center for Cancer Targeted Therapies; Director, Breast Cancer Program; Associate Director for Clinical Research
​Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, Vanderbilt University
Nashville, Tennessee

Dr. Arteaga obtained his MD degree at the University of Guayaquil in Ecuador. He trained in Internal Medicine and Medical Oncology at Emory University and the University of Texas Health Sciences Center San Antonio, respectively. He joined Vanderbilt in 1989 where he now holds the Donna S. Hall Chair in Breast Cancer Research and serves as Professor of Medicine and Cancer Biology. Dr. Arteaga is Director of the Center for Cancer Targeted Therapies and the Breast Cancer Program of the Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center (VICC) where he also serves as Associate Director for Clinical Research. He has over 250 publications in the areas of signaling by growth factor receptors and oncogenes in breast tumor cells, development of targeted therapies and biomarkers of drug action and resistance, and investigator-initiated clinical trials in breast cancer. Since 2002, he has directed the NCI-funded Vanderbilt Breast Cancer SPORE where he co-leads several investigator-initiated clinical trials. His research is funded by the National Cancer Institute, the American Cancer Society, the Department of Defense Breast Cancer Research Program, Stand Up 2 Cancer (SU2C) and the Susan G. Komen for the Cure and Breast Cancer Research foundations. He is a member of the American Society of Clinical Investigation (1998) and the Association of American Physicians (2005). He served as member of the Experimental Therapeutics-2 NIH Study Section (1998-2003), the NCI Board of Scientific Counselors (1999-2004), NCI Parent Subcommittee A for review of Cancer Centers (2004-2008), the Breast Core Committee of the Eastern Cooperative Oncology Group (ECOG) and the Board of Directors of the American Association for Cancer Research (2004-2007). He co-chaired the former Developmental Therapeutics Committee of ECOG and chaired the AACR Special Conferences Committee (2002-2008). Arteaga is the recipient of the 2003 AACR Richard & Hinda Rosenthal Award, a 2007-2017 ACS Clinical Research Professor Award, the 2009 Gianni Bonadonna Award from the American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) and the 2011 Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction from the Susan G. Komen for the Cure Foundation. He is a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) and serves in the Scientific Advisory Board of the Komen Foundation. He has chaired the AACR Special Conference on Advances in Breast Cancer Research since 2003 and has served as AACR co-chair of the annual San Antonio Breast Cancer Symposium since 2009. He served as Deputy Editor of Clinical Cancer Research (2005-2013) and is member of the Editorial Board of Cancer Cell, Cancer Discovery and six other peer-reviewed journals. He serves on the advisory boards of several academic Breast Cancer Programs and NCI-designated Cancer Centers. In 2014-2015, he served as president of the American Association for Cancer Research.