Scholar-in-Training Awards: Annual Meeting

View the list of the 2015 Scholar-in-Training Awardees (Adobe Reader required)

Since its inception in 1986, the AACR Annual Meeting Scholar-in-Training Award program has provided more than 4,700 grants to young investigators and has received support from more than 40 cancer research foundations, corporations, individuals, and other organizations dedicated to the fight against cancer.

Scholar-in-Training Awards are highly competitive and are presented to fewer than 10 percent of applicants. The award recognizes outstanding young investigators who will be presenting meritorious proffered papers at the AACR Annual Meeting.


Applications for Scholar-in-Training Awards for the 2015 AACR Annual Meeting are now closed. Applications were received through the Annual Meeting Abstract Submission portal which closed on December 3, 2014. Scholar-in-Training Awards are not available for late-breaking abstracts.


All applicants for Scholar-in-Training Awards must:

  • Be the first author and presenter of an abstract accepted for presentation at the Annual Meeting.
  • Be a member of the AACR in good standing (dues paid through 2014). Applicants who are not yet members may complete an application for AACR membership prior to the abstract submission deadline.
  • Currently be in a mentored position. Graduate students, medical students and residents, and clinical and postdoctoral fellows or equivalent from any country in the world are welcome to apply.
  • Complete a certification form to confirm they meet the award eligibility criteria.

Applicants may apply for more than one travel award, but may only receive one. Employees or subcontractors of for-profit private industry are not eligible.


All successful applicants for the AACR Annual Meeting 2015 have been notified. Unfortunately, we are only able to provide Scholar-in-Training Awards to a fraction of the qualified applicants. See the list of the 2015 Scholar-in-Training awardees.

Conditions and Logistics

Scholar-in-Training Award funds are to defray travel, subsistence, and registration expenses to attend the Annual Meeting. Home institutions may not deduct any overhead expenses from these funds and no government funds are used in support of Scholar-in-Training Awards.

In order to receive their Scholar-in-Training Award funds, awardees must:

  • Attend the Annual Meeting and pick up their Scholar-in-Training Award in person. Photo identification, such as a passport or a driver’s license, will be required to collect the award check. If an award recipient is unable to attend the meeting or will not be the presenter of the abstract, the award must be forfeited. Scholar-in-Training Awards are not transferable to another person, or to another AACR meeting. Awardees may pick up their checks and Award Welcome Packets at the Associate Member Resource and Career Center, part of AACRcentral, located in Booth #725 in the Exhibit Hall.

  • Make their own housing and travel arrangements and pay the Annual Meeting registration fee.

  • If awardees are subject to U.S. income tax, they must submit receipts to the AACR following the meeting to demonstrate that award funds were used to defray legitimate expenses related to the AACR Annual Meeting, such as airfare, hotel, meeting registration, etc. Failure to submit receipts will result in the award amount being reported as taxable income and, according to IRS guidelines, the AACR will then send awardees a 1099-MISC Income Tax Form for the 2015 tax year. It is the responsibility of the awardee to determine the requirements to report this income when filing tax returns.  

Reception at the Annual Meeting

Scholar-in-Training Award recipients are cordially invited to a reception honoring awardees and funders. The time, date, and location of the reception will be sent to awardees in March. We ask that awardees make every effort to attend this special event.


The AACR gratefully acknowledges supporters who enable us to provide Scholar-in-Training Awards:

Aflac Inc.: recognizes outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists.
The Estate of Dr. June L. Biedler: recognizes meritorious proffered papers in the field of drug resistance. The late Dr. Biedler was a dedicated member of AACR and a distinguished scientist at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center.  
Bristol-Myers Squibb Oncology: recognizes outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists.
The Gerald B. Grindey Memorial Fund: for a meritorious proffered paper in the field of preclinical science. The late Dr. Grindey was a dedicated member of the AACR and a distinguished scientist at Eli Lilly and Company.
Get Your Rear in Gear Philadelphia: recognizes outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists relating to colorectal cancer research.
Susan G. Komen®: recognizes outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists relating to breast cancer research.
Millennium: The Takeda Oncology Company: recognizes outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists.
MEG (the AACR Molecular Epidemiology Working Group): provides travel support and membership to MEG to early-career scientists presenting outstanding abstracts in the field of molecular epidemiology.
The Pezcoller Foundation: provides travel support recognizing outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists in Europe.
The Prostate Cancer Foundation: recognizes outstanding early-career scientists presenting outstanding proffered papers in advanced prostate cancer research.
Società Italiana di Cancerologica (SIC, the Italian Cancer Society): provides travel support to young investigators who are members of SIC, the oldest association dedicated to oncology operating in Italy.
The John W. Warner Fund: supports an early-career investigator who will be presenting a proffered paper relating to cholangiocarcinoma. Established in memory of John Wayne Warner by his family.
WICR (the AACR Women in Cancer Research constituency group): provides travel support to members of WICR presenting outstanding proffered papers through the AACR-WICR Scholar Awards.

Contact Information: