AACR Academy Highlights 

Chen-Zhu_90x110.jpgZhu Chen is one of three to receive the 2018 Sjöberg Prize (Feb. 7, 2018)



Allison_90x110.jpgJames P. Allison will receive the National Academy of Sciences 2018 Jessie Stevenson Kovalenko Medal (Jan. 19, 2018)

Doudna_Jennifer_90x110.jpgJennifer A. Doudna will receive the 2018 NAS Award in Chemical Sciences (Jan. 19, 2018)


Ninety-Six Leading Cancer Researchers and Physician-Scientists, Including Eighteen Nobel Laureates, Urge Congress to Reach a Bipartisan Budget Agreement and Invest in Lifesaving Medical Research (Dec. 6, 2017)

Davidson_Nancy_90x110.jpgNancy E. Davidson receives the Breast Cancer Research Foundation's Jill Rose Award (Nov. 9, 2017)


Jordan_V_Craig_90x110.jpgV. Craig Jordan has been elected to the National Academy of Medicine (Oct. 18, 2017)


Slamon_Dennis_90x110.jpgDennis Slamon receives Susan G. Komen's 2017 Brinker Award for Scientific Distinction in Clinical Research (Oct. 16, 2017)


Blackburn_Elizabeth_90x110.jpgElizabeth H. Blackburn has been named Next Avenue's 2017 Influencer of the Year (Sept. 28, 2017)


Hartwell_Leland_90x110.jpgLeland H. Hartwell receives the 2017 Geoffrey Beene Builders of Science Award (Sept. 22, 2017)

Levy_Ronald_90x110_jpg.jpgRonald Levy is one of two to receive the 2016 Outstanding Investigator Award from the National Cancer Institute (Sept. 22, 2017)

McCormick_Frank_90x110.jpgFrank McCormick receives the Biochemical Society's 2018 Centenary Award (Sept. 22, 2017)

Nurse_Sir_Paul_90x110.jpgSir Paul M. Nurse receives the Feinstein Institute's seventh Anthony Cerami Award in Translational Medicine (Sept. 22, 2017)


Fellows, Elizabeth H. Blackburn and Carol W. Greider are the winners of the 2017 Alma Dea Morani M.D., Renaissance Woman Award (Sept. 22, 2017)

Blackburn_Elizabeth_90x110.jpgElizabeth H. Blackburn, PhD, Salk Institute, La Jolla, CA


Greider_Carol_90x110.jpgCarol W. Greider, PhD, Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD


Jordan_V_Craig_90x110.jpgV. Craig Jordan receives the 2018 Gerald D. Aurbach Award for Outstanding Translational Research (Sept. 18, 2017)

Allison_90x110.jpgJames P. Allison is one of two to receive the 2017 Balzan Prize for Immunological Approaches in Cancer Therapy (Sept. 18, 2017)

Arteaga_Carlos_90x110.jpg Carlos L. Arteaga has been named director of the Harold C. Simmons Comprehensive Cancer Center and associate dean of Oncology Programs at UT Southwestern Medical Center (Sept. 18, 2017)

Lowy_Doug_90x110.jpgDouglas R. Lowy is one of two scientists to receive the 2017 Lasker-DeBakey Clinical Medical Research Award (Sept. 7, 2017)

Rosenberg_Steven_90x110.jpgSteven A. Rosenberg recently spoke at a Congressional briefing hosted by the AACR and SITC regarding the significant progress being made in the field of immuno-oncology (Aug. 17, 2017)


​V. Craig Jordan (left) and Harald zur Hausen (right) were named as members of “The Big Four of the Millennium” in Women’s Health by the German Society of Gynaecology and Obstetrics. The honor, which was announced at the society’s 61st congress in October 2016, identifies four individuals whose work in the 20th century created the standards of women’s health care in the 21st century.

Emmanuelle_Charpentier_90x110.jpgEmmanuelle M. Charpentier is elected as a foreign associate of the National Academy of Sciences (May 11, 2017)


Baylin_Stephen_90x110_jpg.jpgStephen B. Baylin is elected as a member of the National Academy of Sciences (May 11, 2017)


Garber_90x110.jpgJudy E. Garber receives the AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research (May 4, 2017)

Dalla-Favera_90x110.jpgRiccardo Dalla-Favera receives the AACR G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award (May 4, 2017)

Croce_90x110.jpgCarlo M. Croce receives the AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research (May 4, 2017)

Bissell_90x110.jpgMina J. Bissell receives the AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research (May 4, 2017)

Livingston_90x110.jpgDavid M. Livingston receives the Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research (May 4, 2017)


Fellows, Bert Vogelstein and Kenneth W. Kinzler are part of the International Liquid Biopsy Initiative Team that received the AACR Team Science Award (May 4, 2017)

vogelstein_bert_90x110.jpgBert Vogelstein, MD, Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center, Baltimore, Maryland

Kinzler_Kenneth_90x110_jpg.jpgKenneth W. Kinzler, PhD, Johns Hopkins Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center, Baltimore, Maryland


June_Carl_90x110_jpg.jpgCarl H. June receives 2017 David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award and Lecture, American Society of Clinical Oncology (May 2, 2017)

Druker_Brian_90x110.jpgBrian J. Druker receives 2017 Science of Oncology Award and Lecture, American Society of Clinical Oncology (May 2, 2017)

Olopade_Olufunmilayo_color_90x110.jpgOlufunmilayo I. Olopade receives 2017 Humanitarian Award, American Society of Clinical Oncology (May 2, 2017)



V. Craig Jordan wrote an editorial in The Hill calling on Congress to fight the Trump administration’s proposed funding cuts for the National Institutes of Health (April 21, 2017)

Allison_90x110.jpgJames P. Allison has been selected as one of Time's 100 most influential people in the world (April 20, 2017)


Fellows, James P. Allison and Tony Hunter are awarded the 2017 Sjöberg Prize (Feb. 15, 2017)


James P. Allison, PhD, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas



Tony Hunter, PhD,  Salk Institute for Biological Studies, La Jolla, California


Fuchs_Elaine_90x110.jpgElaine Fuchs receives the 2017 McEwen Award for Innovation (Jan. 24, 2017)



Top of page