2014-2015 PCWG Election      

Dr. Garrett M. Brodeur of The Children's Hospital of Philadelphia and The University of Pennsylvania assumed the role of 2014-2015 PCWG chairperson-elect at the AACR Annual Meeting, April 5-9, 2014, in San Diego, Calif.

Garrett BrodeurGarrett M. Brodeur, M.D.
Professor of Pediatrics
Audrey E. Evans Chair in Molecular Oncology
Associate Chair for Research
Associate Director, Abramson Cancer Center
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia and The University of Pennsylvania

2014-2015 PCWG Vision Statement

I have devoted my life to pediatric oncology research, clinical care, and advancing the field through various administrative roles. I have been active in cooperative groups (POG, CCG, COG), as well as the Advances in Neuroblastoma Research Association. The increasing attention to pediatric oncology in AACR has been gratifying, and I will do all I can in this role to further our visibility in this esteemed organization.

One of the biggest problems facing pediatric oncology investigators currently is the deplorable state of federal funding for grants. Because of the relative infrequency of pediatric cancer compared to adult cancer, applications focused on pediatric cancer in the current climate garner less enthusiasm. However, there have been significant advances in pediatric cancer research that have helped accelerate advances in adult cancers. Furthermore, many of the genes, proteins and pathways identified as important in pediatric cancers have been shown to be important in many adult cancers as well. Nevertheless, there are unique aspects to pediatric cancers, and dedicated funding for pediatric cancer research will be essential to maintain the pipeline of young investigators willing to take on the challenges and continue the mission.

I welcome the role of chair-elect, and the association with an organization as prestigious and respected as the AACR, to advance the interests of pediatric oncology investigators in the coming years.