CIMM at the Annual Meeting

The Annual Meeting is an extraordinary venue that fosters scientific discussions and helps build bridges across various disciplines. We encourage all meeting attendees to take advantage of the opportunities presented at the meeting to learn about the latest breakthroughs in cancer immunology, attend sessions outside your own areas of expertise and network with other scientists and clinicians interested in cancer immunology and immunotherapy.
The AACR Annual Meeting 2018 will be held in Chicago, Illinois, from April 14-18.

The Cancer Immunology Working Group (CIMM) will host a variety of sessions and events at the annual meeting, including:

Cancer Immunology Working Group (CIMM) Town Hall Meeting, co-sponsored by the Association for Cancer Immunotherapy (CIMT)

Tuesday, April 17, 2018; 6 - 8 p.m.
McCormick Place Convention Center-South, Room S106
Program Topic: "Vaccines"

Jedd D. Wolchok, MD, PhD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, New York
Dmitry I. Gabrilovich, MD, PhD, The Wistar Institute, Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Özlem Türeci, MD, CIMT Leadership,  Johannes Gutenberg University,
Mainz Medical Center, Mainz, Germany

This co-sponsored Town Hall Meeting will focus on vaccines and both CIMM and CIMT initiatives in immunotherapy. Come hear from experts in the field for an update on recent research advances. Featured presentations will be given by Dr. Sebastian Kreiter, head of the Immunotherapy Development Center at the University Medical Center in Mainz, Germany; and Dr. Pramod K. Srivastava, professor of immunology at the Center for Immunology at the University of Connecticut Health Center. There will also be an update on the AACR Cancer Immunology Research journal by editors-in-chief Drs. Robert D. Schreiber and Philip D. Greenberg. Attendees are cordially invited by the CIMM Steering Committee to hear more about the working group, and then network with colleagues.

Joint Cancer Immunology / Tumor Microenvironment (TME) Working Groups Evening Scientific Session

Overcoming a Hostile Immune Microenvironment
Monday, April 16, 2018; 6 - 8 p.m.
McCormick Place Convention Center-South, Room S103

The chairpersons of the Cancer Immunology (CIMM) and the Tumor Microenvironment (TME) Working Groups invite you to attend this stimulating program to hear the perspective of leaders in the field.

Jedd D. Wolchok, MD, PhD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, New York (CIMM chairperson)
Valerie M. Weaver, PhD, University of California at San Francisco Medical Center,
San Francisco, California (TME chairperson)

Featured Speakers:
F. Stephen Hodi, MD, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, Massachusetts
Combinatorial approaches to checkpoint blockade

Douglas T. Fearon, MD, PhD, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory and Weill Cornell Medical College, Cold Spring Harbor, New York
Results from a phase 1 clinical trial of CXCR4 inhibition in cancers resistant to T cell checkpoint antagonists

Johanna A. Joyce, PhD, University of Lausanne, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, Lausanne, Switzerland
Microenvironmental regulation of cancer metastasis and therapeutic efficacy

CIMM Special Networking Session (with early-career researchers)

How to transition to independent careers
Tuesday, April 17, 2018; 10:45  - 11:30 a.m.
McCormick Place Convention Center, Exhibit Hall A
AACR Amphitheater in AACRcentral, Booth #2312

Come join us in this informative open-ended discussion on various immunology-related career opportunities. There will be ample time for your questions to be answered by professionals in this research field. We hope to see you there!

Moderator: Jedd D. Wolchok, MD, PhD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, New York, and CIMM Chairperson

Stefani Spranger, PhD, MIT Koch Institute for Integrated Cancer Research, Cambridge, Massachusetts
Olivier De Henau, MD, PhD, Bristol-Myers Squibb, New York, New York
David A. Schaer, PhD, Eli Lilly and Company, New York, New York
Vinod Balachandran, MD, Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center, New York, New York

Award Lecture: Sixth Annual AACR-CRI Lloyd J. Old Award in Cancer Immunology

Tuesday, April 17, 2018, 3:30-4:15 p.m.
McCormick Place Convention Center-South, Room S100 (Grand Ballroom)
Recipient and Lecture Topic to be announced

Educational Sessions

Cancer Immunology for Non-Immunologists
Understanding and Intervening in the Immune Response
  from Premalignancy to Metastatic Disease

Saturday, April 14, 2018, 8 - 10 a.m.
McCormick Place Convention Center-North, Hall C1 (Level 1)
Chair: Steven M. Dubinett, David Geffen School of Medicine at the University of California,
Los Angeles

Cancer Immunology for Non-Immunologists – Roundtable Discussions
Saturday, April 14, 2018, 10:15 a.m. - 12:15 p.m.
McCormick Place Convention Center-West, Room W196 (Level 1)
Chair: Olivera J. Finn, University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania

For CIMM-related sessions taking place at the AACR Annual Meeting, see the CIMM-related online planner, here. Please note that this list may not be all-inclusive of the immunology-related sessions offered.

Check the Tumor Microenvironment Working Group webpage for other sessions that may be of interest.

Visit the AACR Annual Meeting homepage for more logistical information. To access the all-sessions online planner, see here