AACR Invites Nominations for 2015 Team Science and Immunology Awards


​PHILADELPHIA — The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) announces a call for nominations for the Ninth Annual AACR Team Science Award and the Third Annual AACR-Cancer Research Institute (CRI) Lloyd J. Old Award in Cancer Immunology.

The awards will be presented during the AACR Annual Meeting 2015, which will be held April 18-22, in Philadelphia.

Ninth Annual AACR Team Science Award

The AACR Team Science Award was established to acknowledge and catalyze the growing importance of interdisciplinary teams to the understanding of cancer and/or the translation of research discoveries into clinical cancer applications. The award will recognize an outstanding interdisciplinary research team for its innovative and meritorious science that has advanced or likely will advance our fundamental knowledge of cancer or a team that has applied existing knowledge to advance the detection, diagnosis, prevention or treatment of cancer.

The team selected to receive the AACR Team Science Award will collectively be awarded an honorarium of $50,000.

Last year’s award was presented to the Duke University/Johns Hopkins University/National Cancer Institute Malignant Brain Tumor Team, led by Darell Doty Bigner, MD, PhD, director of the Preston Robert Tisch Brain Tumor Center and the Pediatric Brain Tumor Foundation Institute at Duke University School of Medicine.

The Ninth Annual AACR Team Science Award is generously supported by Eli Lilly and Company.

Third Annual AACR-CRI Lloyd J. Old Award in Cancer Immunology

The AACR-CRI Lloyd J. Old Award in Cancer Immunology was established to honor the memory of the late Lloyd J. Old and will recognize an active scientist whose outstanding and innovative research in cancer immunology has had a far-reaching impact on the cancer field.

Last year’s honoree was Robert D. Schreiber, PhD, alumni endowed professor of pathology an immunology, professor of molecular microbiology, and director of the Center for Human Immunology and Immunotherapy Programs at Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis. His award lecture was titled, “Cancer Immunoediting: Applying Mechanistic Insights to Cancer Immunotherapy.”

In addition to presenting a 50-minute lecture at the AACR Annual Meeting 2015, the recipient will receive an honorarium of $10,000.

  • Nominations for these awards must be submitted by 4 p.m. ET, Wednesday, Sept. 3, 2014.