AACR Recognizes its Newest Grantees at the Annual Meeting 2012


CHICAGO — The AACR congratulates its 13 new grant recipients at the AACR Annual Meeting 2012, held here March 31 - April 4.

Career Development Awards:

2012 AACR-Aflac Inc. Career Development Awards for Pediatric Cancer Research

  • Carl R. Walkley, Ph.D., St. Vincent’s Institute of Medical Research
    “New models and approaches in osteosarcoma”

  • Jing Crystal Zhao, Ph.D., Sanford-Burnham Medical Research Institute
    “Role of imprinted long non-coding RNA Gtl2 in gene regulation”

AACR-FNAB Career Development Award for Translational Cancer Research

  • Christine L. Phillips, M.D., Cincinnati Children’s Hospital Medical Center - Research Foundation
    “Genetic model of cytarabine sensitivity in children with AML”

AACR-Genentech BioOncology Career Development Award for Cancer Research on the HER Family Pathway

  • Eddy Shih-Hsin Yang, M.D., Ph.D., The University of Alabama at Birmingham
    “HER2 overexpression confers susceptibility to PARP inhibition”

AACR Judah Folkman Career Development Award for Antiangiogenesis Research  

  • Richard W. Joseph, M.D., Mayo Clinic, Jacksonville
    “The relationship of angiogenesis and immune evasion in renal cell carcinoma”

Fight Colorectal Cancer-AACR Career Development Award, in memory of Lisa Dubow

  • Richard B. Halberg, Ph.D., University of Wisconsin-Madison
    “Molecular differences predicting tumor progression in colorectal cancer”

Grants for Independent Investigators:

AACR Dharma Master Jiantai Innovative Grant for Lung Cancer Research

  • Julie M. Wells, Ph.D., The Jackson Laboratory
    “Detecting changes in circulating microRNAs during lung cancer progression”


AACR-Amgen Inc. Fellowships in Clinical/Translational Cancer Research

  • Sarah E. Bohndiek, Ph.D., Stanford University
    “Molecular imaging and diagnostics for improved ovarian cancer management”

  • Ami S. Bhatt, M.D., Ph.D., Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
    “Pathogen discovery in urothelial cancer using next-generation sequencing”

AACR-Bristol-Myers Squibb Oncology Fellowship in Clinical Cancer Research

  • Antonio Giordano, M.D., Ph.D., The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
    “Single-nucleus sequencing of circulating tumor cells”

AACR-Conquer Cancer Foundation of ASCO Young Investigator Translational Cancer Research Award

  • Richard Mark White, M.D., Ph.D., Sloan-Kettering Institute for Cancer Research
    “BRAFV600E as a regulator of transcriptional elongation”

AACR-Genentech BioOncology Fellowship for Cancer Research on the HER Family Pathway

  • Sadhna Vora, M.D., Massachusetts General Hospital
    “Fructose metabolism as a mechanism of resistance to PI3k inhibitors”

Fellows Grants:

2012 AACR-FNAB Fellows Grant for Translational Pancreatic Cancer Research

  • Aatur Dilip Singhi, M.D., Ph.D., Johns Hopkins University
    “Marker of sensitivity to GEM/SBRT in unresectable pancreatic adenocarcinoma”