AACR G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award Recipients

This award recognizes outstanding recent accomplishments in basic cancer research.

57th Annual Award Recipient
Riccardo Dalla-Favera, MD
Director and Professor
Columbia University Institute for Cancer Genetics
New York, New York

Dr. Dalla-Favera delivered his award lecture titled “The Makings of Human B Cell Lymphoma” at the AACR Annual Meeting 2017 in Washington, D.C. The award presentation and lecture were held Monday, April 3, 2017, at the Washington Convention Center.

This award was established in 1961 by AACR and Eli Lilly and Company to honor Dr. G.H.A. Clowes, a founding member of AACR and past research director at Eli Lilly and Company. The award recognizes an individual that has had outstanding recent accomplishments in the field of basic cancer research.

Riccardo Dalla-Favera, MD is best known for his studies on the genetic alterations involved in the pathogenesis of human cancer, in particular, human B-cell lymphoma. Dr. Dalla-Favera and his research team have contributed significantly to the understanding of normal B-cell function, directly impacting the diagnostics and therapeutic targeting of B-cell malignancies including Burkitt Lymphoma, Diffuse Large B-Cell Lymphoma, and Chronic Lymphocytic Leukemia.

Using first the molecular dissection of chromosomal translocations recurrent in these diseases, Dr. Dalla-Favera’s group identified several oncogenes involved in these genetic alterations. In particular, he co-discovered the MYC oncogene involvement in chromosomal translocations associated with Burkitt lymphoma. Subsequently, his laboratory identified several mutated genes involved in lymphomagenesis, including BCL6, a key transcription factor in B-cell development, and an important oncogene in B cell lymphoma.

More recently, using genome-wide gene sequencing and gene expression analysis, the Dalla-Favera laboratory elucidated a more complete landscape of the genome of these malignancies. They have identified the normal function, as well as the contribution to B-cell transformation of recurrently altered genes, by using in vitro studies and conditional mouse models reproducing the lesions in B cells.

Dr. Dalla-Favera’s work is widely recognized with numerous National and International prizes and awards, including two NIH MERIT Awards, the 2005 “Outstanding Achievement Award” from the American-Italian Cancer Foundation, the 2006 William Dameshek Prize for Outstanding Contribution to Hematology from The American Society of Hematology, the San Salvatore Foundation Prize for Lymphoma Research, the 2012 Alfred Knudson Award from the National Cancer Institute, and in 2014, the OncLive Giants of Cancer Care Award. Dr. Dalla-Favera is a member of the National Academy of Medicine and the National Academy of Sciences.

He is a 2017 inductee of the Fellows of AACR Academy.

Award Recipients

  • 2017: Riccardo Dalla-Favera
  • 2016: Vishva M. Dixit
  • 2015: Owen N. Witte
  • 2014: James P. Allison
  • 2013: Michael R. Stratton
  • 2012: Alan D. D'Andrea
  • 2011: Yosef Shiloh
  • 2010: Titia de Lange
  • 2009: Joan Massagué
  • 2008: John E. Dick 
  • 2007: Michael B. Kastan 
  • 2006: Carlo M. Croce
  • 2005: David M. Livingston
  • 2004: Frederick W. Alt
  • 2003: Ronald A. DePinho
  • 2002: Frank McCormick
  • 2001: Stephen J. Elledge
  • 2000: Elizabeth H. Blackburn
  • 1999: Mina J. Bissell
  • 1998: Arnold J. Levine
  • 1997: Stanley J. Korsmeyer
  • 1996: Robert A. Weinberg
  • 1995: Bert Vogelstein
  • 1994: Mary-Claire King
  • 1993: Stuart H. Yuspa
  • 1992: June L. Biedler
  • 1991: Michael H. Wigler
  • 1990: Erkki Ruoslahti
  • 1989: Janet D. Rowley
  • 1988: Isaiah J. Fidler
  • 1987: I. Bernard Weinstein
  • 1986: Hidesaburo Hanafusa
  • 1985: Judah Folkman
  • 1984: Emmanuel Farber
  • 1983: Peter N. Magee
  • 1982: George Weber
  • 1981: Allan H. Conney
  • 1980: Lloyd J. Old
  • 1979: Roswell K. Boutwell
  • 1978: Torbjorn Caspersson
  • 1977: Ludwik Gross
  • 1976: Henry S. Kaplan
  • 1975: Elwood V. Jensen
  • 1974: Howard M. Temin
  • 1973: Wallace P. Rowe
  • 1972: Sidney Weinhouse
  • 1971: Howard E. Skipper
  • 1970: Charles Heidelberger
  • 1969: James A. Miller
  • 1968: George H. Hitchings
  • 1967: George Klein
  • 1966: Joseph W. Beard
  • 1965: Lloyd W. Law
  • 1964: Van R. Potter
  • 1963: Peyton Rous
  • 1962: Jacob Furth
  • 1961: Renato Dulbecco