Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research Recipients

This award is presented to a scientist of international renown who has made a major scientific discovery in basic or translational cancer research.

20th Annual Award Recipient
David M. Livingston, MD
Emil Frei Professor of Genetics and Medicine, Department of Cancer Biology
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachusetts

Dr. Livingston delivered his award lecture titled "BRCA1, other Fanconi Gene, and Swi/SNF function co-Sustain Mammary Epithelial Differentiation Through DNA Damage Repair" at the AACR Annual Meeting 2017 in Washington, D.C. The award lecture was held Sunday, April 2, 2017, at the Washington Convention Center.

The Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award was established in 1997 to recognize a scientist who has made a major scientific discovery in basic cancer research, or who has made significant contributions to translational cancer research; who continues to be active in cancer research, and has a record of recent and noteworthy publications; and whose ongoing work holds promise for continued substantive contributions to progress in the field of cancer.

Dr. Livingston, is honored for his fundamental contributions to the field of basic cancer research. His work has been pivotal to the understanding of retinoblastoma pathway of cell cycle control as well as the transcriptional co-activation function of the key regulatory proteins, p300 and CBP. Dr. Livingston is also credited with the landmark discovery of the central functions of the tumor suppressors, BRCA1 and BRCA2, which has revolutionized the fields of breast and ovarian cancer research.

Dr. Livingston’s stellar reputation as a respected and admired scientist, colleague, and mentor is clearly evident through his continued impact upon scientific endeavors. 

Dr. Livingston received an AB cum laude from Harvard College in 1961, an MD, magna cum laude, from Tufts University School of Medicine in 1965, and served his internship and residency in internal medicine at the Peter Bent Brigham Hospital in Boston (now Brigham and Women's Hospital).

Dr. Livingston is the recipient of numerous awards and honors including the AACR G.H.A. Clowes Award in 2005. He has been elected to the National Academy of  Medicine, the National Academy of Sciences, and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Dr. Livingston is a fellow of the AACR Academy.

Award Recipients

  • 2017: David M. Livingston
  • 2016: Joan Massagué
  • 2015: James P. Allison
  • 2014: Elaine Fuchs
  • 2013: Peter K. Vogt
  • 2012: Robert A. Weinberg
  • 2011: Pier Paolo Pandolfi
  • 2010: Joseph Schlessinger
  • 2009: Napoleone Ferrara 
  • 2008: Axel Ullrich 
  • 2007: Mina J. Bissell
  • 2006: Tadatsugu Taniguchi
  • 2005: Lewis C. Cantley
  • 2004: Stanley J. Korsmeyer
  • 2003: Mario Capecchi
  • 2002: Carl-Henrik Heldin
  • 2001: Elizabeth H. Blackburn
  • 2000: Charles J. Sherr
  • 1999: Carlo M. Croce
  • 1998: Anthony J. Pawson