​AACR Project GENIE: Governance

The project is governed by a steering committee, with a representative from each of the participating institutions, one of whom is chairperson. The chairperson is elected to a two-year term by the steering committee. The AACR chief executive officer or his or her designee, the AACR president or his or her designee, and a member of the AACR Science Policy and Government Affairs and Clinical and Translational Cancer Research Committees also serve on the project steering committee. The steering committee reports to an external advisory board, and the AACR board of directors.

Steering Committee

  • Charles L. Sawyers, MD, Chairperson 2015-2017
  • Nancy E. Davidson, MD (2016 - 2017)
  • Fabrice André, MD, PhD
  • José Baselga, MD, PhD (2015-2016)
  • Philippe Bedard, MD
  • Raymond N. DuBois, MD, PhD
  • Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc)
  • Mia A. Levy, MD, PhD
  • Gerrit A. Meijer, MD, PhD
  • Gordon B. Mills, MD
  • Barrett J. Rollins, MD, PhD
  • Laura J. van ’t Veer, PhD
  • Victor E. Velculescu, MD, PhD

Three subcommittees of no fewer than five (5) and no more than (7) members will make recommendations regarding policy content and enforcement within their subject areas to the steering committee for final decision. In final votes on matters of policy, the two European Participants shall each be entitled to 2.5 votes, with the other five Participants having one vote each. Each subcommittee will be chaired by a steering committee member.


  • Data Standards
  • Concept Proposals and Publications
  • Membership and Data Access

Coordinating Center

  • Shawn M. Sweeney, PhD
  • Nicole M. Peters