AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research Recipients

This award recognizes an individual whose leadership and extraordinary achievements have made a major impact in cancer research.

11th Annual Award Recipient
Carlo M. Croce, MD
Director, Human Cancer Genetics
Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center
Columbus, Ohio

Dr. Croce received his award during the Opening Ceremony of the AACR Annual Meeting 2017 which was held Sunday, April 2, 2017, at the Washington Convention Center.

The American Association for Cancer Research established this award in 2007 in honor of Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc), for her exemplary leadership of the AACR as its chief executive officer; for her sustained, outstanding work in fostering research, scholarly communications, education and training, science policy, and public education; and for her extraordinary dedication and contributions to the conquest of cancer.

The award recognizes a true champion of cancer research, an individual who embodies the sustained commitment of Margaret Foti to the prevention and cure of cancer. The award is given to an individual whose leadership and extraordinary achievements in cancer research or in support of cancer research have made a major impact on the field. Such achievements may include scientific contributions to the acceleration of progress against cancer, significant accomplishments in the national or international awareness of the importance of cancer research, or other ways demonstrating a sustained extraordinary commitment to cancer research.

The AACR honors Carlo M. Croce, MD for his consistent and long-standing impact on the translation of fundamental cancer mechanisms to clinical applications. His many contributions to the field of cancer research have provided an important foundation for the identification of druggable targets and have been invaluable to advancements made toward cancer diagnosis and prognosis.

Dr. Croce’s research has masterfully translated chromosomal translocation breakpoints to strategies for cancer prevention, early detection, and therapy. His paradigm-shifting work is highly regarded by colleagues as the basis for intensive investigation throughout the international scientific community. He is also recognized for his extraordinary scientific leadership in the national and international scene, including research administration and mentorship of many talented young investigators from all over the world, all of which have contributed to furthering progress against cancer.

Dr. Croce received his BS and MD degrees from University of Rome in 1967 and 1969, respectively. In 2004, he became John W. Wolfe chair in human cancer genetics; chairman of the Department of Molecular Virology, Immunology, and Medical Genetics; and director of the Institute of Genetics at The Ohio State University. Dr. Croce is a member of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the American Association for the Advancement of Science, The National Academy of Sciences, and the Institute of Medicine.

Dr. Croce has received numerous awards and honors, including the 2006 AACR G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award, and was elected fellow of the AACR Academy in 2013. He was an editor-in-chief of Cancer Research (1990-1999) during a time when the journal was publishing important advances in molecular biology and biotechnology as well as studies reflecting major progress in breast and ovarian cancer research with the cloning of the BRAC1 and BRAC2 genes.

Award Recipients

  • 2017: Carlo M. Croce
  • 2016: Waun Ki Hong
  • 2015: Donald S. Coffey
  • 2014: Webster K. Cavenee
  • 2013: Robert C. Young
  • 2012: John Mendelsohn
  • 2011: Arthur D. Levinson
  • 2010: Phillip A. Sharp
  • 2009: Anna D. Barker
  • 2008: Ellen V. Sigal
  • 2007: Margaret Foti