American Association for Cancer Research

May 8, 2007 -- Centennial Celebration Dinner, Andrew W. Mellon Auditorium

The AACR Centennial Celebration Dinner united members of Congress, leading cancer scientists, cancer center directors and friends of cancer research from around the world in our shared mission to conquer cancer.

The Honorable Arlen Specter and Dr. Margaret Foti 
Senator Arlen Specter (R-PA) and Dr. Margaret Foti, AACR CEO

Centennial Dinner, May 8, 2007
Representative Sue Myrick (R-NC); Dr. von Eschenbach and Dr. William Hait, AACR President

Centennial Dinner, May 8, 2007
Dr. V. Craig Jordan, Fox Chase Cancer Center and Dr. John Smyth, President, Federation of European Cancer Societies

Centennial Dinner, May 8, 2007
Dr. W. Jack Pledger, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center; Dr. Donald Coffey, AACR Past President,  Johns Hopkins University; Ms. Carolyn "Bo" Aldige, President, Cancer Research Prevention Foundation

Recognizing their steadfast efforts to make cancer research a national priority, Senators Arlen Specter (R-PA) and Daniel K. Inouye (D-HI) and Congresswomen Rosa DeLauro (D-CT) and Sue Myrick (R-NC) were honored with AACR Centennial Medals for Distinguished Public Service during the evening's program.

A highlight of the evening was the debut of AACR's Centennial video featuring some of the world's top cancer researchers, advocates and leaders reflecting on AACR's role in 100 years of progress in cancer research. View the Centennial video, "A Century of Progress, Our Mission, Our Dream."