American Association for Cancer Research

AACR Council of Scientific Advisors

The mission of the American Association for Cancer Research is to prevent and cure cancer at the earliest possible time, utilizing all mechanisms at its disposal to further progress against cancer. We are now at an important juncture in the evolution of cancer and biomedical research. Along with these remarkable advances comes a weighty responsibility. How can we take advantage of the best that cancer science has to offer? How can we exploit the wealth of genomics and other relevant data? How can we promote the translation of new scientific discoveries into real and sustained benefits for cancer patients? And how can we accelerate these advances in cancer research? 

To address these pressing questions, the leadership of the AACR felt that its mission could be effectively strengthened by the formation of the Council of Scientific Advisors (CSA). The members of the Council are elected by the Board of Directors and report directly to the Board. 

The Association has an important role to fill in fostering cancer research, science policy, and scientific communication. The CSA, with its top leaders from all aspects of cancer and biomedical research, will have enormous impact in the form of expert advice and counsel on matters that affect the cancer research community. The CSA is an important new AACR entity of the highest priority and its recommendations will have overarching implications, both nationally and internationally. 


Steering Committee

George F. Vande Woude, Ph.D., Chairperson
Distinguished Scientific Fellow
Van Andel Research Institute
Grand Rapids, MI

Anna D. Barker, Ph.D.
Professor and Director, Transformative Healthcare Networks
Arizona State University
Scottsdale, AZ

J. Michael Bishop, M.D.
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA

Nancy G. Brinker
Founding Chairman
Susan G. Komen for the Cure
Dallas, TX

Richard B. Gaynor, M.D.
Vice President - Oncology Business Unit
Eli Lilly and Company
Indianapolis, IN

Waun Ki Hong, M.D.
Head, Division of Cancer Medicine
UT M.D. Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Charles L. Sawyers, M.D.
Chairman, Oncology & Pathology Program
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY

Phillip A. Sharp, Ph.D.
Institute Professor
David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research At MIT
Cambridge, MA

Karen H. Vousden, Ph.D.
Beatson Institute for Cancer Research
Glasgow, Scotland

Zena Werb, Ph.D.
Professor and Vice-Chair, Department of Anatomy
University of California, San Francisco
San Francisco, CA



Julian Adams, Ph.D.
President of Research and Development
Infinity Pharmaceuticals
Cambridge, MA

Carolyn R. Aldigé
President and Founder
Prevent Cancer Foundation
Alexandria, VA

James P. Allison, Ph.D.
Chairman, Immunology Program
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY

Anton J.M. Berns, Ph.D.
Director of Research and Chairman
Netherlands Cancer Institute
Amsterdam, The Netherlands

Anne-Lise Børresen-Dale, Ph.D.
Professor and Head, Department of Genetics
Norwegian Radium Hospital
Institute for Cancer Research
Montebello, Norway

Joan S. Brugge, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Cell Biology
Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Michael A. Caligiuri, M.D.
CEO and Director
The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center
James Cancer Hospital
Columbus, OH

Lewis C. Cantley, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Systems Biology
Harvard Medical School/BIDMC
Boston, MA

Tom Curran, Ph.D.
Deputy Scientific Director
The Children’s Hospital of Philadelphia Research Institute
Philadelphia, PA

Ronald M. Evans, Ph.D.
Professor, Gene Expression Laboratory
Salk Institute for Biological Studies
La Jolla, CA

Napoleone Ferrara, M.D.
Genentech Fellow
Genentech, Inc.
South San Francisco, CA

Elaine V. Fuchs, Ph.D.
Investigator, Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology & Development
Howard Hughes Medical Institute
The Rockefeller University
New York, NY

Sanjiv Sam Gambhir, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Radiology, Molecular Imaging Program
Stanford University
Stanford, CA

Levi A. Garraway, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor of Medicine
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA

Daniel A. Haber, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
Massachusetts General Hospital
Charlestown, MA

Susan Band Horwitz, Ph.D.
Distinguished Professor
Department of Molecular Pharmacology
Albert Einstein College of Medicine
Bronx, NY

Peter A. Jones, Ph.D., D.Sc.
USC/Norris Comprehensive Cancer Center
Los Angeles, CA

Michael Karin, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Pharmacology
University of California, San Diego
La Jolla, CA

Richard D. Kolodner, Ph.D.
Member, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
Distinguished Professor, Department of Medicine
UC San Diego School of Medicine
La Jolla, CA

Sherry Lansing
Sherry Lansing Foundation
Los Angeles, CA

Edison T. Liu, M.D.
Executive Director
Genome Institute of Singapore

Gloria M. Petersen, Ph.D.
Consultant & Professor, Clinical Epidemiology
Mayo Clinic College of Medicine
Rochester, MN

Janet D. Rowley, M.D.
Professor of Medicine, Department of Medicine
University of Chicago Medical Center
Chicago, IL

Ellen V. Sigal, Ph.D.
Friends of Cancer Research
Arlington, VA

Michael R. Stratton, M.B.B.S., Ph.D.
Director, The Wellcome Trust Sanger Institute
Wellcome Trust Genome Campus
Cambridge, England

Irving L. Weissman, M.D.
Professor of Pathology
Stanford University School of Medicine
Palo Alto, CA

Eileen P. White, Ph.D.
Associate Director for Basic Science
UMDNJ-The Cancer Institute of New Jersey
New Brunswick, NJ

Paul Workman, Ph.D.
Director, Cancer Research UK Cancer Therapeutics Unit
Harrap Professor of Pharmacology and Therapeutics
The Institute of Cancer Research
Sutton, England