American Association for Cancer Research

MICR Council Members 2013-2014

In September 2000, the AACR Board of Directors enthusiastically approved the formation of AACR-Minorities in Cancer Research (MICR) and its leadership council to act as an advisory body to the AACR Board of Directors on issues of concern to minority investigators. A Chairperson-Elect and three new Council members are elected annually.The terms for current Council members are listed below.

MICR Council Officers

Christopher Li


Christopher I. Li, M.D., Ph.D. (Bio)
Head, Translational Research Program
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA

I am honored to be chair of the AACR-MICR Council. I am strongly committed to promoting diversity in the field of cancer research, as well as to science aimed at reducing well known disparities in cancer incidence and mortality among medically underserved populations.

During my tenure as council chair, I hope to foster the career development of minority scientists on a variety of levels, including identifying promising scientists. I am also eager to work with others on the council to develop and organize scientific symposiums that present state-of-the-art research focused on reducing cancer disparities.

 Marcia Cruz-Correa

Past Chair

Marcia Cruz-Correa, M.D., Ph.D. (Bio)
Associate Professor of Medicine and Biochemistry
University of Puerto Rico Cancer Center
San Juan, PR

Chanita Hughes-Halbert


Chanita Hughes-Halbert, Ph.D. (Bio)
Professor and Endowed Chair, Dept. of Psychiatry
Medical University of South Carolina Hollings Cancer Center
Charleston, SC

Edith Perez

Chair-Elect Designate

Edith A. Perez, M.D. (Bio)
Deputy Director and Serene M. & Frances C. Durling Professor of Medicine
Mayo Clinic Cancer Center
Jacksonville, FL

Margaret Foti

Margaret Foti, Ph.D., M.D. (h.c.)

Chief Executive Officer
American Association for Cancer Research
Philadelphia, PA

Back to top

MICR Council Members

 A. William Blackstock

A. William Blackstock, M.D. (Bio)
Professor & Chairman, Rad. Oncology
Wake Forest University School of Medicine
Winston Salem, NC
Council Term: 2012-2015

 Wayne D. Bowen

Wayne D. Bowen, Ph.D. (Bio)
Professor and Chair, Dept. of Molecular Pharmacology, Physiology & Biotechnology
Brown University
Providence, RI
Council Term: 2011-2014

Malcolm V. Brock, M.D.

Malcolm V. Brock, M.D. (Bio)
Associate Professor of Surgery and Oncology
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
Baltimore, MD
Council Term: 2012-2015

 John M. Carethers, M.D.

John M. Carethers, M.D. (Bio)
John G. Searle Professor and Chair, Dept. of Internal Medicine
University of Michigan
Ann Arbor, MI
Council Term: 2013-2016

 Rick Kittles

Rick A. Kittles, Ph.D. (Bio)
Associate. Professor, Dept. of Medicine
University of Illinois at Chicago
Chicago, IL
Council Term: 2012-2015

 Lisa A. Newman, M.D., M.P.H., FACS, FASCO

Lisa A. Newman, M.D., M.P.H., FACS, FASCO (Bio)
Director, Breast Care Ctr.
Univ. of Michigan Comp. Cancer Ctr.
Ann Arbor, MI
Council Term: 2013-2016

Sanya Springfield

Sanya Springfield, Ph.D., Ex Officio (Bio)
Director, Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities
National Cancer Center
Bethesda, MD

 Charles Richard Thomas Jr., M.D. Charles Richard Thomas Jr., M.D. (Bio)
Chair and Professor, Radiation Medicine
OHSU Knight Cancer Institute
Portland, OR
Council Term: 2013-2016

Back to top