American Association for Cancer Research

AACR Health Policy Subcommittee

Bookmark and Share

The AACR Health Policy Subcommittee develops and promotes policies and member education initiatives that will foster the closer integration of clinical practice and cancer research.

The Health Policy Subcommittee (HPS) of the Science Policy and Government Affairs Committee was created to address policy issues and member education initiatives that will foster the closer integration of, and clarify the evolving relationship between, cancer research and clinical practice.

Focus areas of the subcommittee include comparative effectiveness research (CER), health information technology (HIT), patient-reported outcomes (PROs) and patient participation in clinical research.



Subcommittee Documents:


Cosigned Letters

Subcommittee Members

Amy P. Abernethy, M.D., Chairperson
Duke University School of Medicine
Durham, NC

Karen H. Antman, M.D.
Boston University School of Medicine
Boston, MA

William S. Dalton, M.D., Ph.D.
M2Gen, Personalized Medicine Institute at Moffitt Cancer Center
Tampa, FL

Mark A. Israel, M.D.
Dartmouth Norris Cotton Cancer Center
Lebanon, NH

Richard Kouri, Ph.D.

North Carolina State University
Raleigh, NC

Thomas J. Lynch, Jr., M.D.

Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, CT

Peter J. Neumann, Sc.D.
Tufts Medical Center
Boston, MA

Steven R. Patierno, Ph.D.
Duke University Medical Center
Durham, NC

Scott Ramsey, M.D., Ph.D.
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Seattle, WA

Mark E. Robson, M.D.
Memorial Sloan-Kettering Cancer Center
New York, NY

Deborah Schrag, M.D., M.P.H.
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Harvard Medical School
Boston, MA

Ellen V. Sigal Ph.D.

Friends of Cancer Research
Washington, DC

Sean Tunis, M.D., M.Sc.
Center for Medical Technology Policy (CMTP)
Baltimore, MD


AACR Staff Contact:

Jennifer Hobin, Ph.D., Director of Science Policy

AACR Office of Science Policy and Government Affairs
Email or call (202) 898-6499