American Association for Cancer Research

AACR Tobacco and Cancer Subcommittee

Bookmark and Share

The AACR Tobacco and Cancer Subcommittee was convened in 2009 to foster scientific and policy initiatives to reduce the incidence of disease and mortality due to tobacco use.

Tobacco use is the leading preventable cause of premature mortality, killing more than five million people worldwide every year. It has a particularly profound impact on cancer incidence and mortality. Indeed, tobacco use is causally associated with 18 different cancers, including lung, head and neck, stomach, pancreas, and cervical cancers, and alone tobacco accounts for 30 percent of all cancer deaths.

Tobacco Use by Cancer Patients: An AACR Policy Statement

Tobacco use not only causes cancer, but it also interferes with cancer treatment and leads to poorer outcomes. The AACR has drafted a policy statement with recommendations related to tobacco use by cancer patients which calls for universal tobacco use assessment, provision of cessation treatment to all cancer patients, and the evaluation of tobacco use as a confounding factor in cancer clinical trials. 


 AACR Documents  

 Co-Signed Documents 

 Archived News 

 Subcommittee Roster 

The Science Behind Tobacco Control

The Family Smoking Prevention and Tobacco Control Act (FSPTC) of 2009 created the FDA Center for Tobacco Products (CTP) and for the first time in U.S. history created a framework for the regulation of tobacco products. The CTP’s mission to reduce the public health harms of tobacco use through evidence-based regulation of tobacco products relies on continual research as new tobacco products emerge and our understanding of the biochemical and psychological responses to tobacco use improves. The AACR is committed to working with the FDA and other policy makers to improve our understanding of the public health impact of tobacco and to reduce global tobacco use.











Subcommittee Members: 

Roy S. Herbst, M.D., Ph.D., Chairperson
Yale Cancer Center
New Haven, CT

Denise Aberle, M.D.
University of California, Los Angeles

Los Angeles, CA

Thomas H. Brandon, Ph.D.
H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center & Research Institute
Tampa, FL

Geoffrey T. Fong, Ph.D.

University of Waterloo
Ontario, CANADA

Jennifer Rubin Grandis, M.D.
University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Pittsburgh, PA

Ellen R. Gritz, Ph.D.
The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Dorothy K. Hatsukami, Ph.D.
University of Minnesota
Minneapolis, MN

Ernest Hawk, MD, MPH
The University of Texas M. D. Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Waun Ki Hong, M.D., D.M.Sc. (Hon.)
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Fadlo R. Khuri, M.D.
Emory University

Atlanta, GA

Scott J. Leischow, Ph.D.
The University of Arizona
Tucson, AZ

Peter G. Shields, M.D.

The Ohio State University Medical Center
Columbus, OH

Benjamin Toll, Ph.D.
Yale University School of Medicine

New Haven, CT

Kasisomayajula (Vish) Viswanath, Ph.D.
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA

Graham Warren, M.D., Ph.D.
Medical University of South Carolina
Charleston, SC

Stephanie Land, Ph.D., ex officio 
National Cancer Institute

Rockville, MD


AACR Staff Contact:

Jennifer Hobin, Ph.D., Director of Science Policy

AACR Office of Science Policy and Government Affairs
Email or call (202) 898-6499