American Association for Cancer Research

SU2C Scientific Advisory Committee

The Scientific Advisory Committee is dedicated to seeking out the most innovative and promising cancer research projects for funding by Stand Up To Cancer. Committee members were selected from among the most highly accomplished, world-class scientists representing several research disciplines in order to provide an expert and comprehensive perspective, and the patient advocates serving on the Committee were elected by the Advocate Advisory Council. The scientific oversight provided by the Scientific Advisory Committee is critical to achieve Stand Up To Cancer's mission to translate the most promising cancer research into real advances in cancer diagnosis, treatment, and prevention as quickly as possible.

Phillip A. Sharp, Ph.D., Chairperson
Institute Professor
David H. Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Cambridge, MA

Arnold J. Levine, Ph.D., Vice Chairperson
Institute for Advanced Study and Cancer
Institute of New Jersey
Princeton, NJ

William G. Nelson, M.D., Ph.D., Vice Chairperson
Sidney Kimmel Comprehensive Cancer Center
Johns Hopkins University
Baltimore, MD

Julian Adams, Ph.D.
President of Research and Development
Infinity Pharmaceuticals, Inc.
Cambridge, MA

Angelika Amon, Ph.D.
Professor of Biology
Koch Institute for Integrative Cancer Research
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Boston, MA

Kenneth C. Anderson, M.D.
Kraft Family Professor of Medicine
Harvard Medical School
Director, Lebow Institute for Myeloma Therapeutics and Jerome Lipper Multiple Myeloma Center
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA

Frederick R. Appelbaum, M.D.
Director, Clinical Research Division
Fred Hutchinson Cancer Research Center
Head, Division of Oncology
University of Washington School of Medicine
President, Seattle Cancer Care Alliance
Seattle, WA

Elizabeth H. Blackburn, Ph.D.
Morris Herzstein Professor
University of California, San Francisco
Mission Bay Campus
San Francisco, CA

Richard B. Gaynor, M.D.
Vice President
Clinical Development and Medical Affairs
Eli Lilly and Company
Indianapolis, IN

William N. Hait, M.D., PH.D.
Global Head, Research and Development
Janssen, Pharmaceutical Companies of Johnson & Johnson
Raritan, NJ

Lee J. Helman, M.D.
Scientific Director for Clinical Research
Center for Cancer Research
National Cancer Institute
National Institutes of Health
Bethesda, MD

Waun Ki Hong, M.D.
Head, Division of Cancer Medicine
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Carl H. June, M.D.
Director Translational Research Program
Abramson Cancer Center
Professor of Pathology and Laboratory Medicine
Perelman School of Medicine
University of Pennsylvania
Philadelphia, PA

William G. Kaelin Jr., M.D.
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, MA

Michael B. Kastan, M.D., Ph.D.
Executive Director
Duke Cancer Institute
Durham, NC

Richard D. Kolodner, Ph.D.
Professor of Medicine
University of California, San Diego
Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research
La Jolla, CA

Guillermina (Gigi) Lozano, Ph.D.
Chairman and Professor
Department of Genetics
The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center
Houston, TX

Thomas J. Lynch Jr., M.D.
Director, Yale Cancer Center
Physician-in-Chief Smilow Cancer Hospital at Yale-New Haven Hospital
Richard and Jonathan Sackler Professor of Internal Medicine
Yale University
New Haven, CT
Tak W. Mak, Ph.D.
Campbell Family Institute for Breast Cancer Research
Princess Margaret Hospital
Toronto, ON, Canada

Cecil B. Pickett, Ph.D.
President, Research and Development
Biogen Idec
Cambridge, MA

Nancy A. Roach
Chair, Board of Directors
Fight Colorectal Cancer (Fight CRC)
Hood River, OR

Laura K. Shawver, Ph.D.
Chief Executive Officer
Cleave Biosciences
Burlingame, CA

Ellen V. Sigal, Ph.D.
Chairperson and Founder, Friends of Cancer Research (Friends)
Washington, DC

David A. Tuveson, M.D., Ph.D.
Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory
Cold Spring Harbor, NY

Back to Top