American Association for Cancer Research

Robert J. Lefkowitz, M.D.

       Fellows of the AACR Academy

Robert LefkowitzRobert J. Lefkowitz, M.D.
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, James B. Duke Professor of Medicine; Professor of Biochemistry and Chemistry, Duke University Medical Center, Durham, NC

A celebrated scientist, Dr. Lefkowitz’s contributions have been pivotal to the overall comprehension of signal transduction complexity, most notably his discoveries of the structure and function of G protein coupled receptors (GPCRs), especially the adrenergic family of receptors. In addition to the characterization of the largest class of membrane receptors, Dr. Lefkowitz is also credited with defining regulatory mechanisms responsible for modulating the function of GPCRs. He was the first to discover the existence and function of G protein–coupled receptor kinases and arrestins, two types of proteins capable of altering GPCR function.

Dr. Lefkowitz’s studies have been essential for the expansion of cancer pharmacology and drug development as evidenced by the prominence of GPCRs among current pharmaceutical targets for a variety of diseases, including cancer. His efforts have been recently rewarded by the 2012 Nobel Prize in Chemistry.

Career Highlights

2012  Nobel Prize in Chemistry
2011  George M. Kober Medal, Association of American Physicians
2009  BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Award
2009  Research Achievement Award, American Heart Association
2007  U.S. National Medal of Science, National Science Foundation
2007  Shaw Prize in Life Science and Medicine
2007  Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research
2003  Fondation Lefoulon, Delalande Grand Prix for Science, Institut de France
2001  Jessie Stevenson Kovalenko Medal of the USA, National Academy of Sciences
1994  Elected Member, Institute of Medicine
1992  Bristol-Myers Squibb Award for Distinguished Achievement in Cardiovascular Research
1988  Gairdner Foundation International Award
1988  Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, DC
1988  Elected Member, American Academy of Arts and Sciences
1966  M.D., Columbia University