American Association for Cancer Research


Each year at the Annual Meeting, the AACR honors scientific excellence in cancer research through prestigious Prizes, Awards, and Lectureships and gives special recognition to distinguished individuals whose efforts and dedication have helped to increase awareness about the importance of cancer research.

In addition to the major Scientific and Public Service Awards, the AACR offers a number of research grants for cancer researchers at various stages in their careers to foster the development of the most promising scientists. To enhance the education and training of young investigators, the AACR also offers a variety of Scholar Awards and travel grants that provide financial support for attendance at the annual meeting.

On Saturday evening, April 1, 2006, the First Annual Awards Reception and Dinner was held to honor the 2006 AACR Awards Recipients. For detailed information on any of the award recipients, please click the individual's name below. Award history, nomination procedures, previous recipients, etc. can be found at

AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research

Bernard Fisher, M.D.
Distinguished Service Professor
University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, PA

AACR Public Service Awards

Sherry L. Lansing
Chief Executive Officer
The Sherry Lansing Foundation, Los Angeles, CA

Janet Woodcock, M.D.
Deputy Commissioner for Operations and Chief Operating Officer
U.S. Food and Drug Administration, Rockville, MD

Kirk A. Landon-AACR Prize for Basic Cancer Research

Robert A. Weinberg, Ph.D.
Member, Whitehead Institute for Cancer Research, Professor of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

Dorothy P. Landon-AACR Prize for Translational Cancer Research

Angela M. Hartley Brodie, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Pharmacology and Experimental Therapeutics
University of Maryland School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD

Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research

Tadatsugu Taniguchi, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Immunology
Graduate School of Medicine and Faculty of Medicine
University of Tokyo, Tokyo, Japan

AACR-Irving Weinstein Distinguished Lectureship

Phillip A. Sharp, Ph.D.
Institute Professor and Founding Director of the McGovern Institute for Brain Research
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

AACR-G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award

Carlo M. Croce, M.D.
The John Wolfe Professor for Cancer Research
Chairman, Department of Molecular Virology, Immunology, and Medical Genetics
Director, Human Cancer Genetics Program
The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center, Columbus, OH

AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award

Wiliam G. Kaelin, Jr., M.D.
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Professor of Medicine, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute and Brigham & Women’s Hospital, Harvard Medical School
Senior Physician, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston, MA

AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Memorial Lectureship

Nancy Hopkins, Ph.D.
Amgen, Inc. Professor of Biology
Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA

AACR-Minorities in Cancer Research Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship

Olufunmilayo I. Olopade, M.D.
Professor, Department of Medicine
Director, Center for Clinical Cancer Genetics
University of Chicago Medical Center, Chicago, IL

AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Research

Ivan Dikic, M.D., Ph.D.
Professor, Institute for Biochemistry II
Goethe University Medical School, Frankfurt, Germany

AACR-American Cancer Society Award for Research Excellence in Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention

Nicholas Edward Day, Ph.D.
Professor of Epidemiology
University of Cambridge, Cambridge, United Kingdom

AACR-Cancer Research and Prevention Foundation Award for Excellence in Cancer Prevention Research

Scott M. Lippman, M.D.
Ellen F. Knisely Distinguished Chair in Colon Cancer Research
Professor of Cancer Prevention
Chair, Department of Clinical Cancer Prevention, Division of Cancer Prevention
UT M. D. Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Clinical Research Award

Merrill J. Egorin, M.D.
Professor of Medicine and Pharmacology
University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute, Pittsburgh, PA

AACR-Bruce F. Cain Memorial Award

Julian Adams, Ph.D.
Chief Scientific Officer
Infinity Pharmaceuticals, Cambridge, MA

AACR Research Funding Awards

Scholar-in-Training Awards and Travel Grants