American Association for Cancer Research

4th Annual AACR Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition

An undergraduate woman explains her poster to a studentStudents fill the auditoriumAn undergraduate man watches the panel discussion

Saturday, April 18, 2009
100th AACR Annual Meeting
Denver, Colorado 

This year, the Undergraduate Student Caucus was attended by a diverse group of talented students coming from both community colleges and traditional four-year colleges and universities.  Participants enjoyed a full day of events, including:

  • a panel discussion led by scientific investigators ranging from graduate students to postdocs who addressed important issues relevant to scientific research and career development;
  • a keynote address from prominent cancer researcher Dr. Donald Coffey, who inspired students to consider and commit to careers in cancer research;
  • a competitive poster session which awarded students 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place prizes for outstanding posters; and
  • access to all Annual Meeting scientific sessions, the poster and exhibit hall, and much more!

                           Winners of the AACR-Miller Prizes 2009
                          (R to L: Anurag Shukla, Stephen Allsop, Ralph Passarella)

The AACR Science Education committee would like to congratulate the winners of the AACR-Gary J. Miller Undergraduate Student Prizes for Cancer and Cancer-Related Biomedical Research!

  • First Place: Ralph Passarella of Vanderbilt University, Nashville, TN
  • Second Place: Stephen Allsop of North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC
  • Third Place: Anurag Shukla of the University of Vermont College of Medicine, Burlington, VT 

And thank you to our speakers, who included:

Dr. Donald Coffey


  Donald S. Coffey, Ph.D.
  Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine
  Baltimore, MD


  Dr. Beverly Lyn-Cook


  Beverly D. Lyn-Cook, Ph.D.
ood and Drug Administration-NCTR
  Jefferson, AR



Interested in participating next year?

Advance Registration Deadline: April 2, 2010
Click here for 2010 Registration Form

Abstract Submission Deadline: March 26, 2010
(Click here to see Poster Competition Eligibility and Guidelines.  Abstract should be submitted electronically to