American Association for Cancer Research

Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition 2011

Saturday, April 2, 2011
11:00 a.m. - 5:00 p.m.
The Peabody Orlando Hotel, Windermere Room Y&Z
Orlando, FL

Participants at the U.S.C.P.C.

Each year at the AACR Annual Meeting, the Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition brings together undergraduate students at all levels and post baccalaureate students to explore educational and career pathways in cancer research, present their own research, and compete for prizes. We thank all our student participants, poster presenters, and volunteer judges for making the 2011 session such a resounding success!

2011 Student participants enjoyed:

A panel discussion led by young scientific investigators ranging from graduate students to postdocs, who addressed issues related to scientific research and career development;

A keynote address from a prominent cancer researcher, who inspired students to consider a career in cancer research;

A competitive poster session that awarded first, second, and third place prizes for outstanding student research; and

Access to all AACR Annual Meeting scientific sessions, posters, exhibits and much more!


We congratulate the 2011 winners of the AACR-Gary J. Miller Undergraduate Student Prizes for Cancer and Cancer-Related Biomedical Research:


Miles FullerFirst Place: $1,500 toward attendance at the AACR 103rd Annual Meeting 2012
Miles Fuller, Junior, Morehouse College, Atlanta, GA
Leptin induces Src/Gbr2/Gab2/STAT3 activation and Rac-1 crosstalk to regulate VEGF/VEGFR2 in breast cancer




Chaoying XuSecond Place: $300
Chaoying Sarah Xu, Senior, University of Toronto, Toronto, ON
Caveolin-1 promotes cell proliferation, EGFR activation and tumor growth in kidney cancer




Melony OchiengThird Place: $200
Melony A. Ochieng, Junior, North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC
A Bifunctional pH-sensitive Polymetric Drug Delivery System for Breast Cancer




Congratulations to the Top Ten Meritorious Poster Awardees:

Raul Caso, Senior, University of Miami, Miami, FL
Tumor microenvironment induces profound immune suppression: Macrophages from peripheral and tumor locations differ in their degrees of inflammatory impairment

Jeff Chen, Junior, UC Davis, Davis, CA
Effects of KRASG12D and P53 oncogenes on pancreatic cellular plasticity

Marc D. Coppola, Sophomore, H. Lee Moffitt Cancer Center and Research Institute, Tampa, FL
MicroRNA-641 activates ERK and induces cell growth/migration/invasion by targeting NF1: Implication of cooperation with the AKT2 oncogene

Dustin Gable, Senior, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH
Ets1 as a target of microRNA-1 in cutaneous squamous cell carcinoma

Akash Gupta, Junior, University of Louisville, Louisville, KY
Chemopreventive activities of the dark-colored fruit "jamun," the Indian blackberry

Maurice Junious, Junior, Moores UCSD Cancer Center, La Jolla, CA
Designing a student database to track underrepresented students in the science pipeline for careers in cancer research

Elizabeth Kennedy, Senior, University of Michigan Comprehensive Cancer Center, Ann Arbor, MI
The effects of mevalonate pathway inhibitors on the motility and invasion of aggressive breast cancers

James Muller, Senior, Delaware State University, Dover, DE

Josette Pierre, Senior, Cornell University, Ithaca, NY
The effect of ionizing radiation in mice with partial impairment of Hus1, an essential DNA damage checkpoint gene

Xin Zhou, Senior, The Hugo Moser Research Institute at Kennedy Krieger, Baltimore, MD
PTEN reconstitution alters glioma responses to c-Met pathway inhibition


We thank the following exceptional speakers for their participation




11:00 a.m. – 11:30 a.m.

Registration and Lunch

11:30 a.m. – 11:40 a.m.


Stewart Sell, M.D.
Wadsworth Center-NY State Dept. of Health, Albany, NY

11:40 a.m. – 12:15 p.m.

“Understanding Cancer”

Donald Coffey, Ph.D.
Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Baltimore, MD 

12:20 p.m. – 12:45 p.m.

“Navigating the AACR Annual Meeting”

Arti P. Varanasi, Ph.D.
Westat Inc., Rockville, MD 

12:45 p.m. – 12:55 p.m.

Remarks from Lead Judge and Introduction of Judges

Oliver Bögler, Ph.D.
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX

12:55 p.m. – 2:30 p.m.

Poster Session and Exhibits

2:30 p.m. – 3:45 p.m.

Panel Discussion and Q&A


Antonio T. Baines, Ph.D.
North Carolina Central University, Durham, NC



Gregory Adams Jr. B.S., Graduate Student
Morehouse School of Medicine, Stone Mountain, GA


Derrick D. Cox, M.D., Surgical Oncology Fellow
Roswell Park Cancer Institute, Buffalo, NY

Zachary J. Reitman, B.S., Graduate/Medical Student
Dept. of Pathology, Duke University, Durham, NC

Krista A. Zanetti, Ph.D., M.P.H., R.D.
Program Director, National Cancer Institute, Rockville, MD


3:45 p.m. – 3:50 p.m.

Remarks from 2010 First Place Miller Prize Winner

Xin (Linda) Zhou
Johns Hopkins University, Baltimore, MD


3:50 p.m. – 4:30 p.m. 

Prize Distribution

4:30 p.m. – 4:45 p.m.

Wrap-Up and Evaluation







For those who are interested in attending next year's program, registration materials will be available starting in December 2011. Or, email for more information.

Mentoring Opportunities
Visit our website to learn more about volunteering as a judge for an upcoming Undergraduate Student Caucus and Poster Competition.

Please contact us via e-mail, or call toll-free, (866) 423-3965.