American Association for Cancer Research

AACR Team Science Award Recipients

2013 Johns Hopkins Pancreatic Cancer Sequencing Team in the Sol Goldman Pancreatic Cancer Research Center at Johns Hopkins University
Ralph H. Hruban, M.D.; N. Volkan Adsay, M.D.; Peter J. Allen, M.D.; Michael A. Choti, M.D.; Luis A. Diaz, M.D.; James R. Eshleman, M.D., Ph.D.; Michael G. Goggins, M.D.; Joseph M. Herman, M.D.; Christine A. Iacobuzio-Donahue, Ph.D., M.D.; Scott E. Kern, M.D.; Kenneth W. Kinzler, Ph.D.; Alison P. Klein, Ph.D.; David S. Klimstra, M.D.; Anirban Maitra, M.B.B.S.; Alan K. Meeker, Ph.D.; Nickolas Papadopoulos, Ph.D.; Victor E. Velculescu, M.D., Ph.D.; Bert Vogelstein, M.D.; Christopher L. Wolfgang, M.D., Ph.D.; Laura DeLong Wood, M.D., Ph.D.

In recognition of having discovered a new cancer pathway and new familial pancreatic cancer genes. They have defined the time course for the development of pancreatic neoplasia, and have shown that each of the four cystic tumors of the pancreas has a unique mutational profile. These sequencing efforts have revolutionized the understanding of the fundamental genetic changes that characterize pancreatic cancer. Importantly, the team's work has immediate clinical implications.  

2012 The Institute of Cancer Research (ICR) and Royal Marsden Hospital: Cancer Research UK Cancer Therapeutics Unit and Drug Development Units
Bissan Al-Lazikani, Udai Banerji, Julian Blagg, Ian Collins, Johann De Bono, Sue Eccles, Michelle Garrett, Swen Hoelder, Keith Jones, Stan Kaye,
Spiros Linardopoulos, Richard Marais, Flo Raynaud, Caroline Springer, Rob van Montfort, Paul Workman

In recognition of their tremendous impact in the preclinical discovery and clinical development of innovative cancer therapeutics. The team, comprising experts in cancer biology, pharmacology, medicinal chemistry and medical oncology, was responsible with its academic and industrial partners for the discovery of 16 drug development candidates over the past six years. Six of these candidates entered clinical trials, including highly promising inhibitors of androgen biosynthesis (CYP17), heat shock protein 90, phosphatidylinositol 3-kinase, protein kinase B/AKT, and cyclin-dependent kinases. The team also carried out pioneering preclinical work on BRAF and its inhibitors and discovered CHK1 and dual Aurora/FLT3 inhibitors.

2011 Seattle HPV Research Team

Janet R. Daling, Ph.D.; Denise A. Galloway, Ph.D.; James Hughes, Ph.D.; Nancy B. Kiviat, M.D.; Laura Koutsky, Ph.D.; Margaret M. Madeleine, Ph.D.; Constance Mao, M.D.; Barbara McKnight, Ph.D.; Peggy L. Porter, M.D.; Stephen M. Schwartz, Ph.D.; Hisham K. Tamimi, M.D.; Long-fu Xi, Ph.D.

In recognition for taking an interdisciplinary approach to study the natural history of genital human papillomavirus (HPV) infection and the role that a subset of HPVs plays in the etiology of anogenital and oropharyngeal cancers. These studies have contributed to development of vaccines to prevent infection and cancer.

2010 Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center Thoracic Oncology Research Team

Michael J. Eck, M.D., Ph.D.; Jeffery Engelman, M.D., Ph.D.; Nathanael S. Gray, Ph.D.; Daniel A. Haber, M.D., Ph.D.; Pasi A. Jänne, M.D., Ph.D.; Bruce E. Johnson, M.D.; Susumu Kobayashi, M.D., Ph.D.; Eunice L. Kwak, M.D., Ph.D.; Neal Lindeman, M.D.; Thomas J. Lynch, M.D.; Shyamala Maheswaran, Ph.D.; Matthew L. Meyerson, M.D., Ph.D.; Lecia V. Sequist, M.D., MPH.; Jeffery Settleman, Ph.D.; Daniel G. Tenen, M.D.; Mehmet Toner, Ph.D.; Kwok-Kin Wong, M.D., Ph.D.

In recognition for demonstrating mutations of EGFR in lung cancer cell lines and patients are closely associated with dramatic responses to treatment with gefitinib or erlotinib. Their in vitro and clinical work identified two novel mechanisms of resistance to gefitinib and erlotinib and have developed therapeutic strategies to overcome resistance.

2009 St. Jude Children's Research Hospital Acute Lymphoblastic Leukemia Team

Dario Campana, M.D., Ph.D.; Cheng Cheng, Ph.D.; James R. Downing, M.D.; William E. Evans, Pharm.D.; Melissa M. Hudson, M.D.; Sima Jeha, M.D.; Charles Mullighan, MBBS (Hons), MSc, M.D.; Ching-Hon Pui, M.D.; Susana C. Raimondi, Ph.D.; Mary V. Relling, Pharm.D.; Raul C. Ribeiro, M.D.  

In recognition of their seminal laboratory discoveries that unraveled mechanisms of leukemogenesis and drug resistance; the identification of novel therapeutic targets; and the integration of biologic, genomic and pharmacologic discoveries into comprehensive clinical protocols all leading to markedly improved cure rates of children with acute lymphoblastic leukemia.

2008 University of California San Francisco, the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory and the Roswell Park Cancer Institute

Donna G. Albertson, Jane Fridyland, Joe W. Gray, Ajay Jain, Anne H. Kallioniemi, Olli-Pekka Kallioniemi, Robert Nordmeyer, Norma J. Nowak, Daniel Pinkel, Antoine Sniders, Damir Sudar and Frederick M. Waldmann

In recognition of a team of clinicians, physicists, biochemists, statisticians, computer scientists and engineers at the University of California San Francisco, the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, and Roswell Park Cancer Institute for the conception, technical implementation, dissemination and pioneering applications of comparative genomic hybridization or CGH, and array CGHin.

2007 University of Michigan-Brigham and Women's Hospital Team
Xuhong Cao, M.S.; Arul M. Chinnaiyan, M.D., Ph.D.; Saravana Dhanasekaran, Ph.D.; Rohit Mehra, M.D.; James Montie, M.D.; Kenneth Pienta, M.D.; Robin Rasor; Daniel Rhodes, Ph.D.; Rajal Shah, M.D.; Scott A. Tomlins, M.D., Ph.D.; Sooryanarayana Varambally, Ph.D.; and John Wei, M.D. of the University of Michigan, and Francesca Demichelis, Ph.D.; Charles Lee, Ph.D.; Sven Perner, M.D.; and Mark A. Rubin, M.D., of Brigham and Women's Hospital, Harvard Medical School

In recognition of their landmark discovery of recurrent gene fusions in a majority of prostate cancers, which has profound clinical and biological implications for understanding prostate cancers, and their embodiment of team science through interdisciplinary and inter-institutional collaboration.