American Association for Cancer Research

Scholar-in-Training Awards: Annual Meeting

              View the list* of the 2014 Scholar-in-Training awardees. 


Since its inception in 1986, the AACR Annual Meeting Scholar-in-Training Award program has provided more than 4,700 grants to young investigators and has received support from more than 40 cancer research foundations, corporations, individuals and other organizations dedicated to the fight against cancer. 

Award Terms

A reimbursement check ($500-$2,500 depending on the recipient's country of residence and travel award funder) will be presented to the recipient at the Annual Meeting when photo identification is provided. Recipients may pick up their check and welcome package starting Sunday, April 6, at the Associate Member Resource and Career Center.

Photo identification will be required to collect the award check. If an award recipient is unable to attend the meeting or will not be the presenter of the abstract, the award must be forfeited. Awards are not transferable.

Award recipients are required to pay the annual meeting registration fee and make their own travel and housing arrangements. Therefore, all Scholar-in-Training Award applicants are encouraged to register immediately to take advantage of the reduced advance registration rates. Booking travel and housing early will also ensure that the lowest rates will be available. Proper documentation of travel, housing, registration and/or subsistence expenses (receipts) will be requested from residents of the United States; these awards may be considered taxable income by the U.S. Internal Revenue Service if documentation of expenses is not provided.

The time, date and location of receptions were sent with award notifications. Please plan to attend.


Elizabeth Dempsey, Program Coordinator

*Adobe Acrobat Reader required




The AACR gratefully acknowledges the following supporters of Scholar-in-Training Awards and International Travel Grants:


Aflac Incorporated: Recognizing outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists.

Avon Foundation: Providing travel support to abstract presenters working in breast cancer or other female cancers travelling from countries where opportunities for scientific advancement are limited. 

Bristol-Myers Squibb Oncology: Recognizing outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists.

Get Your Rear in Gear-Philadelphia: Recognizing outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists relating to coloretctal cancer research.

Gerald B. Grindey Memorial Fund: For a meritorious proffered paper in the field of preclinical science. The late Dr. Grindey was a dedicated member of the AACR and a distinguished scientist at Eli Lilly and Company.

GlaxoSmithKline: Providing travel support to early-career scientists presenting outstanding papers in clinical cancer research through the GlaxoSmithKline Outstanding Clinical Scholar Awards.

Italian Cancer Society (SIC): Provides travel support to young investigators who are members of SIC, the oldest association dedicated to oncology operating in Italy.  

Millennium: The Takeda Oncology Company: Recognizing outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists.

Molecular Epidemiology Working Group of AACR: Provides travel support and membership in MEG to early-career scientists presenting outstanding abstracts in the field of molecular epidemiology.

The Pezcoller Foundation: Provides travel support recognizing outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists in Europe.

Prostate Cancer Foundation: Recognizing outstanding early-career scientists presenting outstanding proffered papers in advanced prostate cancer research.

Susan G. Komen: Recognizing outstanding proffered papers by early-career scientists relating to breast cancer research.

The Warner Fund: Supports an early-career investigator who will be presenting a proffered paper relating to cholangiocarcinoma. Established in memory of John Wayne Warner by his family.

Women in Cancer Research: Provides travel support to members of WICR presenting outstanding proffered papers through the AACR-WICR Scholar Awards