Contact Us

AACR Office of Science Policy and Government Affairs 

1401 H Street, NW, Suite 740​

Washington, DC 20005
Phone: 202-898-6499 
Fax: 202-898-0966


Jon Retzlaff, MBA, MPA
Chief policy officer
Vice president, Science Policy and Government Affairs

Before joining the AACR in 2010 as the chief policy officer and vice president of science policy and government affairs, Mr. Retzlaff led the health and biomedical practice for a government relations firm in D.C. Prior to these two positions, he served as legislative director for the Federation of American Societies for Experimental Biology from 2004-2007.

Additionally, he worked for the National Institutes of Health, first as a program analyst within the Office of the Director's legislative office; then as a senior legislative advisor to the National Institute of Neurological Disorders and Stroke; and finally as the executive officer of the National Library of Medicine. Mr. Retzlaff was assigned to the House (1998) and Senate (2000-2001) appropriations subcommittees on labor, health and human services, education and related agencies on health research funding issues, as well as within the Office of the Secretary for Legislation at the Department of Health and Human Services. He entered the Federal Government as a Presidential Management Intern in 1993 and completed a rotation in the Office of Senator Herb Kohl (D-Wis.) during his training.

Mr. Retzlaff earned a Bachelor of Science degree from the University of Minnesota, a master's degree in public administration from Indiana University and a master's degree in business administration from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology.

Carrie Treadwell, MBA
Director of strategic patient advocacy and engagement


Audrey Jackson, PhD
Director of science and health policy


Sarah Martin, MS, PhD
Associate director of regulatory science and policy

Brandon Leonard, MA
Assistant director of government relations and advocacy


Karen Russell
Administrative manager of survivor and patient advocacy


Nicole Boschi, PhD
Senior science policy analyst  


Elizabeth Barksdale, PhD
Senior regulatory science policy analyst  


Trevan Locke, PhD
Scientific program administrator of regulatory science and policy

Serita Henderson
Senior administrative coordinator