​​Standing Committees 

Cancer Prevention, Early Detection, and Interception Committee

The AACR Cancer Prevention, Early Detection, and Interception Committee helps to coordinate the long-term prevention agenda of the AACR. The committee is charged with strengthening existing AACR programs, publications, and other efforts related to cancer prevention research. The committee also serves to help develop initiatives to promote global cancer prevention, increase national awareness, and educate the lay public about cancer prevention.


Top of page

Continuing Medical Education Committee 

The Continuing Medical Education (CME) Committee was established in 2009 to provide guidance on the strategic direction for the AACR Office of CME.

A. William Blackstock, Jr., Chairperson
Elizabeth S. Garrett-Mayer
Steven Grant
Mark A. Israel
Mignon L. Loh
Patricia M. LoRusso
Mark E. Robson
Steven T. Rosen
Edward A. Sausville

Top of page

Executive Committee 

The Executive Committee, whose members are the AACR elected officers, reviews issues to be considered by the board of directors. The Executive Committee is empowered to act on behalf of the board of directors between board meetings and performs such other duties that are usually part of their respective elected positions.

Elizabeth M. Jaffee, President
Elaine R. Mardis, President-elect
Michael A. Caligiuri, Past President
William N. Hait, Treasurer
Margaret Foti, CEO

Top of page

Exhibits Committee 

The Exhibits Committee works in an advisory capacity to review and approve new exhibitors and comment on the quality of the exhibits accepted at the Annual Meeting. 

Eric P. Winer, Chairperson
Craig J. Burd
Maximilian Diehn
Olivera J. Finn
Tona M. Gilmer
Ajay Goel
Tari A. King
Gordon B. Mills
Andrea L. Richardson
Mary B. Todd
Jeffrey A. Toretsky
Danny R. Welch
Douglas Yee

Top of page

Finance and Audit Committee 

The Finance and Audit Committee assists in the financial planning of the association, and is responsible for maintaining the financial health of the AACR, prioritizing and focusing resources on activities that support the mission of the AACR, and managing resources based on strategic priorities.

Thomas J. Lynch, Jr., Chairperson
Walter J. Curran, Jr.
Susan M. Galbraith
Richard B. Gaynor
Mary J.C. Hendrix
Hervé J. Hoppenot
Candace S. Johnson
Michelle M. Le Beau
Bernard K. Levy
David B. McFadden
William H. Mears, Jr.
Beverly S. Mitchell
Edith A. Perez
David M. Reese
Steven T. Rosen
Stephen D. Ryan
John H. Stewart, IV.
Cheryl L. Willman
Michael A. Caligiuri, Ex officio President
Elizabeth M. Jaffee, Ex officio President Elect
William N. Hait, Ex officio Treasurer

Top of page

Nominating Committee 

The Nominating Committee, whose members are elected by the AACR voting membership, selects candidates for the offices of president-elect, the board of directors, and the nominating committee.

Judy E. Garber, Chairperson
Carlos L. Arteaga
Nina Bhardwaj
Suzanne Cory
Olivera J. Finn
Tak W. Mak
Karen H. Vousden
Owen N. Witte

Top of page

Publications Committee 

The Publications Committee was established to assist in maintaining and improving the quality of AACR journals while promoting their fiscal responsibility. The AACR Publications Committee has oversight responsibility for AACR’s journals: Cancer Discovery; Cancer Epidemiology, Biomarkers & Prevention; Cancer Immunology Research; Cancer Prevention Research; Cancer Research; Clinical Cancer Research; Molecular Cancer Research; and Molecular Cancer Therapeutics. The Publications Committee is also responsible for oversight of any other AACR scholarly publications as they are developed.

Victor E. Velculescu, Chairperson
Dafna Bar-Sagi
Mary Helen Barcellos-Hoff
Michael E. Berens
John D. Carpten
Maura L. Gillison
Rakesh K. Jain
Pasi A. Jänne
Gerrit A. Meijer
Gordon B. Mills
Steffi Oesterreich
Gloria M. Petersen
David R. Piwnica-Worms
William Pao
Charles W.M. Roberts
Alice T. Shaw
Lillian L. Siu
Saraswati Sukumar
Toshikazu Ushijima
William N. Hait, Ex officio Treasurer

Top of page

Science Education and Career Advancement Committee 

The Science Education and Career Advancement Committee focuses on cancer (science) education, outreach, and enhancement through activities directed at the undergraduate and high school levels. It is currently responsible for the AACR Science Education Awards for Undergraduate Students and the High School Program that takes place each year during the AACR Annual Meeting.

Kathleen W. Scotto, Chairperson
Fabrice André
Antonio T. Baines
Oliver Bogler, PhD
Angelo M. DeMarzo
Caroline Dive
Sinisa Dovat
Steven M. Dubinett
Ernest T. Hawk
Susan Band Horwitz
Tari A. King
Ming Lei
Beverly D. Lyn-Cook
Richard M. Marais
Kim L. O’Neill
Victoria M. Richon
Brian M. Rivers
Paul A. Scheet
Yu Shyr
Sanya A. Springfield
José G. Treviño, II
Danny R. Welch

​​Top of page

Special Conferences Committee 

The Special Conferences Committee is responsible for planning the AACR’s highly acclaimed special conferences series. Its members determine which topics are most timely and merit coverage in a special conference forum. It also evaluates conference proposals submitted for consideration in the series and identifies appropriate cancer researchers to organize each conference.

William C. Hahn, Chairperson
Cory Abate-Shen
Scott A. Armstrong
René Bernards
Andrea Califano
Lewis C. Cantley
Lisa M. Coussens
Luis A. Diaz
Robert J. Gillies
Joe W. Gray
Joanna L. Groden, PhD
Chanita Hughes-Halbert
David M. Hyman
Trey Ideker
Catriona H.M. Jamieson
Peter A. Jones
Philip W. Kantoff
Michael B. Kastan
Quynh-Thu Le
Massimo Loda
Scott Manalis
Elaine Mardis
Ira Mellman
Lisa A. Newman
Timothy R. Rebbeck
Charles M. Rudin
David A. Sabatini
Louis M. Staudt
Kimberly Stegmaier
Charles Swanton
Alejandro Sweet-Cordero
Giorgio Trinchieri
Nicholas C. Turner
Miguel A. Villalona-Calero
Jane E. Visvader
Anna M. Wu
Lin Zhang
Frank McCormick, Ex officio

Top of page 

Tellers Committee 

The Tellers Committee is charged with certifying all official AACR elections.

Cory Abate-Shen, Chairperson
John F. DiPersio
F. Kay Huebner

Top of page