• Home
  • About Us
  • AACR President-Elect Candidate Biography: Richard M. Marais, PhD, FMedSci, FRS

​President-Elect Candidate: Richard M. Marais, PhD, FMedSci, FRS

Research Interests: Melanoma biology and etiology; BRAF and cell signaling in melanoma; elucidating mechanisms of drug resistance and developing new drugs against BRAF and other cancer targets; innovative clinical trial designs with signal-seeking biomarkers to monitor therapy responses and optimize patient treatment; translating basic research discoveries into clinical implementation; promoting prevention strategies to reduce population melanoma risk.

Current Affiliations: Director, Cancer Research UK (CRUK) Manchester Institute; Senior Group Leader, Molecular Oncology, CRUK Manchester Institute; Group Centre Colead, CRUK Manchester Centre; Centre Colead, Cancer Research UK Lung Cancer Centre of Excellence; Scientific Codirector, Belfast-Manchester Movember Centre of Excellence; Professor of Molecular Oncology, University of Manchester, Manchester, England. 

Previous Positions: Division Head, Division of Cancer Biology (2011-2012); Deputy Chair, Section of Cell and Molecular Biology (2008-2011); Professor of Molecular Oncology (2007-2012); Team Leader, Signal Transduction Team (1998-2012), The Institute of Cancer Research, London.

Postdoctoral Training: Independent Postdoctoral Research Fellow, The Institute of Cancer Research, London (1993-1998); Postdoctoral Research Fellow, Imperial Cancer Research Fund, London (1989-1992). 

Selected AACR Service, Honors, and Awards: Vice Chair (2018-2019) and Cochair (2011, 2015), Annual Meeting Program Committee; Cochair, EACR-AACR-ISCR Special Conference, “The Cutting Edge of Contemporary Cancer Research,” Jerusalem (2018); Member, Program Committee, AACR International Conference on New Frontiers in Cancer Research, Cape Town (2017); Member, AACR Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research Committee (2017-2019); Member, Editorial Board (2016-Present) and Deputy Editor (2007-2009), Cancer Research; Member, Board of Directors (2015-2018); Member, AACR NextGen Transformative Grants Scientific Review Committee (2015-2017); Scientific Editor, Cancer Discovery (2014-Present); Member, Cancer Immunology Working Group (2013-Present); Member, Publications Committee (2012-2015); Faculty and Program Committee Member, Educational Workshop, “Translational Cancer Research for Basic Scientists” (2012-2014); Recipient, AACR Team Science Award (2012); Chair, Research Grants Review Committee (2012); Keynote Speaker, Special Conference, “Molecularly Targeted Therapies: Mechanisms of Resistance” (2012); Chair (2010) and Member (2008), Landon Foundation-AACR INNOVATOR Award for International Collaboration in Cancer Research Committee; Member, Scientific Program Committee, Translational Cancer Medicine Meeting (2010); Member, Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Extraordinary Achievement in Cancer Research Committee (2007, 2015); Member, Laboratory Research Awards Committee (2006).

Selected Non-AACR Service, Honors, and Awards: Elected Fellow, Royal Society (2018); Treasurer (2018-2020), Past President (2016-2018), President (2014-2016), President-Elect (2013-2014), and Secretary General (2004-2013), European Association for Cancer Research (EACR); Cochair, Joint Scientific Advisory Committee, Stand Up To Cancer, Cancer Research UK (SU2C-CRUK) Pediatric Brain Cancer Dream Team Translational Research Grant Program (2018-Present); Scientific Cochair, ESMO Congress, Madrid (2017); Recipient, Society for Melanoma Research (SMR) Outstanding Research Award (2017); Recipient, ARC Léopold Griffuel Award in Translational and Clinical Research (2017); Recipient, European Society for Pigment Cell Research Fritz Anders Medal (2016); Chair, Joint Scientific Advisory Committee, SU2C-CRUK-Lustgarten Foundation Pancreatic Cancer Dream Team (2016-Present); Elected Member, Academia Europaea (2015); Member, Board of Directors, European CanCer Organisation (ECCO) (2014-2016); Cochair, SU2C-CRUK Translational Research Fellowship Joint Scientific Advisory Committee (2014-Present); Recipient, Society for Melanoma Research Estella Medrano Memorial Award (2011); Elected Fellow, European Academy of Cancer Sciences (2009); Member, Scientific Advisory Board, The Melanoma Research Alliance (2009-Present); Member, Scientific Advisory Board, The Harry J. Lloyd Charitable Trust (2007-Present); Elected Fellow, Academy of Medical Sciences, UK (2007).

Education: PhD, Biochemistry, Ludwig Institute for Cancer Research, London, England (1989); BSc, Genetics and Microbiology, University College, London, England (1985).