MICR Awards and Funding Opportunities

MICR is pleased to present awards to outstanding scientists for recognition of their scientific contributions and to support their participation in AACR Annual Meetings and special conferences.

AACR-Minorities in Cancer Research-Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship

The lectureship recognizes an outstanding scientist who has made meritorious contributions to the field of cancer research and who has, through leadership or by example, furthered the advancement of minority investigators in cancer research. The recipient presents the AACR-MICR Jane Cooke Wright Lectureship during the AACR Annual Meeting.

Minority and Minority-Serving Institution Faculty Scholar in Cancer Research Awards

Available to support attendance at the AACR Annual Meeting or special conferences*, the Minority and Minority-serving Institution Faculty Scholar in Cancer Research Awards are given to full-time minority faculty members and faculty members of minority institutions (such as Historically Black Colleges and Universities, Hispanic-serving Institutions, Native Hawaiian-serving Institutions, and others as defined by the U.S. Department of Education). 

Minority Scholar in Cancer Research Awards

The Minority Scholar in Cancer Research Awards provide support for attendance at the AACR Annual Meeting or special conferences*. Those eligible are full-time graduate or medical students, residents, or clinical or postdoctoral fellows from groups considered to be underrepresented in cancer research (African-Americans, Hispanic-Americans, Native-Americans, Native Pacific Islanders/Hawaiians, and Alaska Natives), as defined by the NCI.

Other Opportunities

The AACR sponsors several other award and funding opportunities:

*See the AACR meetings and workshops calendar for deadlines, dates, and information on upcoming AACR special conferences.