AACR-NCI-EORTC International Conference on Molecular Targets and Cancer Therapeutics

Financial Support for Attendance

Scholar-in-Training Awards
Five presenters of meritorious abstracts have been selected by the Conference Chairpersons to receive an award to attend this conference. All graduate and medical students, postdoctoral fellows, and physicians-in-training who are AACR members were eligible for consideration. The name of the Scholar-in-Training awardee, affiliation, and the poster number are provided below. AACR sincerely thanks Aflac, Inc. for their support of these awards.

Irina S. Babina, Institute of Cancer Research, London, United Kingdom, C37
Lucian M. De Waal, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston, Massachusetts, C136
Ujunwa Okoye-Okafor, Albert Einstein College of Medicine, Bronx, New York, C38
Avinash D. Sahu, University of Maryland, College Park, Hyattsville, Maryland, B56
Mark C. Weir, University of Pittsburgh, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, B180

AACR Minority Scholar in Cancer Research Awards 

The AACR is pleased to administer this important award program that is supported by a generous grant from the Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities (CRCHD) of the National Cancer Institute, and provides funds for the participation of meritorious minority scientists in AACR meetings and conferences. These awards are intended to enhance the education and training of minority researchers and to increase the visibility and recognition of minorities involved in cancer research. Eligible scientists are full-time predoctoral (graduate or medical) students or residents, clinical or postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty who are either engaged in cancer research or who have the training and the potential to make contributions to this field. This program applies only to racial/ethnic minority groups that have been defined by the NCI as being traditionally underrepresented in cancer and biomedical research (African American/Black, Alaska Native, Hispanic American, Native American, and Native Pacific Islander.) Only citizens of the United States or Canada or scientists who are permanent residents in these countries may receive one of these awards. The name of the MICR Scholar, affiliation, and the poster or proffered presentation number is provided below.

Kimberleve Rolon-Reyes, University Central del Caribe, Bayamon, Puerto Rico, B202

Women in Cancer Research Scholar in Cancer Research Awards

AACR-Women in Cancer Research (WICR) Scholar Awards are given annually to members of Women in Cancer Research who are graduate and medical students, residents, and postdoctoral or clinical fellows and presenters of meritorious scientific papers at this AACR conference. These meritorious scholar awards are generously supported by the Tang Foundation, Dr. John S. Cargile III, Ed and Jaqueline Gieselman, Charles and Natalina Lunsford, and the Rodney H. and Judy E. Margolis Foundation. The name of the WICR Scholar, affiliation, and the poster number are provided below.

Triparna Sen, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, Texas, C153