Fourth AACR-IASLC International Joint Conference: Lung Cancer Translational Science from the Bench to the Clinic

Financial Support for Attendance

Scholar-in-Training Awards
Two presenters of meritorious abstracts have been selected by the Conference Chairpersons to receive an award to attend this conference. All graduate and medical students, postdoctoral fellows, and physicians-in-training who are AACR members  were eligible for consideration. The name of the Scholar-in-Training awardee, affiliation, and the poster number are provided below. AACR sincerely thanks Aflac, Inc. for their support of these awards.

AACR Scholar-in-Training Awards – Supported by Aflac, Inc.
Victor Martinez Zamora, BC Cancer Research Centre, Vancouver, BC, Canada, A22, PR03
Satyendra Tripathi, The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center, Houston, TX, B29, PR08

Minority Scholar in Cancer Research Awards
The AACR is pleased to administer this important award program that is supported by a generous grant from the Center to Reduce Cancer Health Disparities (CRCHD) of the National Cancer Institute, and provides funds for the participation of meritorious minority scientists in AACR meetings and conferences. These awards are intended to enhance the education and training of minority researchers and to increase the visibility and recognition of minorities involved in cancer research. Eligible scientists are full-time predoctoral (graduate or medical) students or residents, clinical or postdoctoral fellows, and junior faculty who are either engaged in cancer research or who have the training and the potential to make contributions to this field. This program applies only to racial/ethnic minority groups that have been defined by the NCI as being traditionally underrepresented in cancer and biomedical research (African American/Black, Alaska Native, Hispanic American, Native American, and Native Pacific Islander.) Only citizens of the United States or Canada or scientists who are permanent residents in these countries may receive one of these awards.  The names of MICR Scholars, affiliations, and the poster or proffered presentation numbers are provided below.
Karinna Almodovar-Garcia, Vanderbilt-Ingram Cancer Center, Nashville, Tennessee, A06