Eric S. Lander, PhD

Eric S. Lander, PhD
​Professor of Biology and Systems Biology, Harvard Medical School; Founding Director, The Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Cambridge, Massachusetts

Eric S. Lander, PhD | Class of 2016

​A widely recognized authority on cancer genetics, genomics,  mathematics, and molecular biology, Dr. Lander has transformed the understanding of the basic drivers of cancer through his research, most notably that on the sequencing of the human genome. Dr. Lander served as the principal leader of the Human Genome Project and oversaw the sequencing and mapping of the largest proportions of the human genome. He has led the development of various tools and technologies that facilitate analysis of genomic sequencing data, including the creation of a molecular taxonomy for cancers whereby cancers may be stratified based on their genetic makeup as well as their sensitivity to established therapeutics.  

His research has increased the understanding of the genetic basis of various diseases including cancer. His ongoing research is devoted to studying gene signatures and mapping genetic mutations via single nucleotide polymorphism analysis and linkage disequilibrium studies to define the exact predisposing genetic marks that contribute to disease susceptibility in select populations. These studies have highlighted the importance of non-coding RNAs, genetic evolution and variation, as well as structural biology in maintaining genomic integrity. 

Dr. Lander serves as President and Founder of the Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, has co-founded several biotechnology firms, and was appointed by President Obama in 2008 to serve as co-chair of the President's Council of Advisors on Science and Technology.

Career Highlights

2015  Philip Hauge Abelson Prize, American Association for the Advancement of Science
2013  Breakthrough Prize in Life Sciences
2013  Elected Member, Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences
2012  Gregor Mendel Medal, Genetics Society, UK
2010  Albany Medical Center Prize in Medicine and Biomedical Research
2004  Sustained Leadership at the National Level Award, Research!America
2002  Canada Gairdner International Award
2001  Max Delbrück Medal in Molecular Medicine
2000  Beckman Prize, American Association for Laboratory Automation
1999  Elected Member, Institute of Medicine
1997  Elected Fellow, American Academy of Microbiology
1997  Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences, Washington, DC
1995  Rhoads Memorial Award, AACR
1987  MacArthur Foundation Prize Fellowship
1981  PhD, Oxford University