Daniel D. Von Hoff, MD

Daniel D. Von Hoff, MD
Physician in Chief, Distinguished Professor, Translational Genomics Research Institute; Professor of Medicine, Mayo Clinic; Chief Scientific Officer, Virginia G. Piper Cancer Center at Scottsdale Healthcare; Professor, Univ. of Arizona College of Pharmacy

Daniel D. Von Hoff, MD | Class of 2013

An internationally recognized innovator in the development of targeted therapies, Dr. Von Hoff has helped establish many approved therapeutic agents, including mitoxantrone, fludarabine, paclitaxel, docetaxel, irinotecan, nelarabine, capecitabine, and vismodegib. His group developed gemcitabine, the first new drug to improve survival in pancreatic cancer, and currently has dozens of new agents in phase I or II trials.

Dr. Von Hoff’s most recent work in pancreatic cancer includes looking for methods to increase the penetration of drugs into pancreatic cancers and to find ways to starve cancer cells of nutrients needed for survival. Working with other scientists, he has helped launch a global network for pancreatic cancer research. He has authored and served as editor of many scientific publications and was the founding editor-in-chief of both Investigational New Drugs—The Journal of Anticancer Agents and the AACR’s Molecular Cancer Therapeutics. Dr. Von Hoff also established the AACR’s Methods in Clinical Cancer Research Workshop to train young clinical investigators. To date, more than 1600 investigators have been trained to carry out optimally designed translational cancer research studies.

Career Highlights

2015 Researcher of the Year, AZ Business Magazine
2012 Lori Groetken Memorial Lecture and Award, Washington University, St. Louis
2011 Scripps Genomic Medicine Award - Pioneering Implementation of Discoveries
2010 David A. Karnofsky Memorial Award, American Society of Clinical Oncology
2009 Stand Up to Cancer Dream Team Grant Award – Pancreatic Cancer
2008 William F. McWhorter Community Service Leader of the Year Award
2004-2011 National Cancer Advisory Board
2003 Weinberg Award, Dana Farber Cancer Institute
1999-2003 Director, Arizona Cancer Center, The University of Arizona
1999-2000 President, AACR
1997 AACR-Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Award
1993-1996 Board of Directors, AACR
1992 Elected Fellow, American Association for the Advancement of Science
1989-1999 Professor and Director, Institute for Drug Development, The University of Texas Health Science Center at San Antonio
1980 Fellow, American College of Physicians
1973 MD, Columbia University College of Physicians and Surgeons