AACR Congratulates President Dr. Michael A. Caligiuri on Appointment as President and Physician-in-Chief of City of Hope National Medical Center


​PHILADELPHIA — The American Associati​on for Cancer Research (AACR) congratulates President Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, on his appointment as president and physician-in-chief of City of Hope National Medical Center in Duarte, California. Caligiuri assumed the role as President of the AACR in April 2017 and will serve until April 2018.

“On behalf of the American Association for Cancer Research, I wish to extend our sincere congratulations to President Michael Caligiuri,” said Margaret Foti, PhD, MD (hc), chief executive officer of the AACR. “Dr. Caligiuri is a distinguished physician-scientist and highly esteemed leader, not only for the AACR, but for the cancer community at large. His dedication to accelerating the pace of discovery and its translation to the clinic will be invaluable to City of Hope, and in his new position he will be able to make a difference for humankind.”

Caligiuri was most recently director of The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center and CEO of the Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute in Columbus. He begins his new role in February 2018.

Caligiuri is a renowned physician-scientist known for his work in immunology that is focused on human natural killer cells and their modulation for the treatment of leukemia, myeloma, and glioblastoma. Well over 1,500 cancer patients have been treated on clinical protocols that have emanated from the Caligiuri laboratory.

Caligiuri has been actively involved with the AACR since 1990, serving on the Board of Directors (2013-2016) and as chairperson of the Publications Committee since 2003. He has also served as a member of the Clinical and Translational Cancer Research Committee (2001-2004, 2012-present), a member of the Margaret Foti Award for Leadership and Extraordinary Achievements in Cancer Research Committee (2015); Landon Foundation-AACR INNOVATOR Award for Cancer Prevention Research Scientific Review Committee (2011); Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research Selection Committee (2010); chairperson of the Annual Meeting Program Committee (2009); member of the Scientific Program and Scientific Review Committees for the Translational Cancer Medicine Meeting (2008); Steering Committee of the Cancer Immunology Working Group (2007-2012); Clinical Research and Experimental Therapeutics Awards Selection Committee (2004); chairperson (2002) and member (2001) of the Scientific Committee of the AACR-NCI-EORTC International Conference on Molecular Targets and Cancer Therapeutics; member of the editorial boards of Molecular Cancer Therapeutics (2001-2005) and Clinical Cancer Research (1996-2008); associate editor of Cancer Research (2001-2003); member of the Science Policy and Legislative Affairs Committee (2001-2004, 2006-2009, 2012-2015); the Richard and Hinda Rosenthal Foundation Award Selection Committee (1999); and chairperson of the Membership Committee (1999).

He also served as a member of the faculty for the Scientist↔Survivor Program at the AACR Annual Meeting (2003-2009) and as a member of the faculty for the educational workshop, Methods in Clinical Cancer Research (2003-2007).

Caligiuri has been recognized with myriad honors and awards throughout his career, including the Director’s Service Award and the MERIT Award from the National Cancer Institute, the John Wayne Clinical Research Award from the Society of Surgical Oncologists, and the Emil J Freireich Award in Clinical Cancer Research from The University of Texas MD Anderson Cancer Center. He is an elected fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American College of Physicians, and the Alpha Omega Honor Medical Society, as well as an elected member of the Association of American Physicians and the American Society for Clinical Investigation.

Caligiuri received his bachelor’s degree from the State University of New York at Buffalo; received his master’s and medical degrees from Stanford University in Stanford, California; completed a residency in internal medicine at Brigham and Women’s Hospital at Harvard Medical School and a fellowship in medical oncology, bone marrow transplantation, and immunology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute in Boston.