American Association for Cancer Research Welcomes New Board of Directors, Nominating Committee Members


​PHILADELPHIA — The members of the American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) have elected five members to serve on the AACR Board of Directors for the 2016-2019 term and four members to serve on the nominating committee for the 2016-2018 term. They will begin their terms at the AACR Annual Meeting 2016, to be held in New Orleans, April 16-20.

The following five scientists were elected to the board of directors:

Alan Ashworth, PhD, president, Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center, University of California, San Francisco (UCSF); senior vice president for cancer services, UCSF Health; professor of medicine, Division of Hematology/Oncology, Department of Medicine; and E. Dixon Heise distinguished professor in oncology, UCSF;

Dafna Bar-Sagi, PhD, professor of medicine and biochemistry and molecular pharmacology; senior vice president and vice dean for science; and chief scientific officer, New York University School of Medicine;

Karen M. Cichowski, PhD, associate professor of medicine; co-director of Cancer Biology Graduate Program; Ludwig Center Investigator, Harvard Medical School, Boston; co-director, Landry Cancer Biology Consortium, Harvard University, Cambridge, Massachusetts; director, Center for Targeted Cancer Therapies, Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston; associate director of Planning and Evaluation and member, Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center;

Levi A. Garraway, MD, PhD, associate professor of medicine and member of BBS Graduate Program, Harvard Medical School, Boston; active staff, Department of Medical Oncology, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, Boston; associate physician of medicine, Brigham and Women’s Hospital, Boston; associate member, Cancer Program, Broad Institute of MIT and Harvard, Cambridge, Massachusetts; senior associate member and institute member, Broad Institute; co-leader, Cancer Genetics Program, Dana-Farber/Harvard Cancer Center; co-leader, Melanoma Program, Dr. Miriam and Sheldon G. Adelson Medical Research Foundation; director, Center for Cancer Precision Medicine, Dana-Farber Cancer Institute/Brigham and Women’s Hospital/Broad Institute; and

Antoni Ribas, MD, PhD, professor of medicine, surgery, and molecular and medical pharmacology, University of California, Los Angeles (UCLA); director, Tumor Immunology Program, UCLA Jonsson Comprehensive Cancer Center.

The following four scientists were elected to the nominating committee:

Frederick W. Alt, PhD, director, Program in Cellular and Molecular Medicine, Boston Children’s Hospital; professor of genetics and pediatrics, Harvard Medical School, Boston; investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, Boston Children’s Hospital;

Lisa M. Coussens, PhD, professor and chair, Cell, Developmental and Cancer Biology Department; associate director, basic research, Knight Cancer Institute, Oregon Health & Sciences University, Portland; adjunct professor, University of California, San Francisco;

Jennifer Rubin Grandis, MD, professor, otolaryngology, head and neck surgery, School of Medicine, University of California, San Francisco (UCSF); associate vice chancellor, clinical and translational research, UCSF; and

Karen E. Knudsen, PhD, director, Sidney Kimmel Cancer Center; chair and Hilary Koprowski endowed professor, Department of Cancer Biology; professor, Departments of Cancer Biology, Urology, Radiation Oncology, and Medical Oncology, Thomas Jefferson University, Philadelphia.