American Association for Cancer Research Inaugurates New Leadership at 2016 Annual Meeting

Dr. Nancy E. Davidson Inaugurated as President

​NEW ORLEANS — The American Association for Cancer Research (AACR) welcomes Nancy E. Davidson, MD, director of the University of Pittsburgh Cancer Institute, as President of the organization for 2016-2017. She was inaugurated during the Annual Business Meeting, held here during the AACR Annual Meeting 2016.

Davidson, who is also associate vice chancellor for cancer research; Hillman professor of oncology; distinguished professor of medicine and pharmacology and chemical biology; and professor in the Clinical and Translational Science Institute at the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine, is a world-renowned breast cancer researcher whose work focuses on clinical and translational breast cancer research and cancer biology and treatment.

“It’s an exciting challenge and honor to lead the AACR, an organization that has an impressive reputation for its high-quality, innovative cancer research” Davidson said. “I am eager to work with the AACR community on its singular focus of preventing and curing cancer through research, education, communication, and collaboration during this time of unprecedented scientific opportunity.”

Davidson is known for her studies involving the role of hormones and the estrogen receptor in breast carcinogenesis that have defined the molecular mechanisms driving the disease as well as for her efforts to establish novel therapeutic approaches for patients who fail to respond to common treatment modalities. She has led clinical trials involving chemotherapy and endocrine-related therapies for treating premenopausal breast cancer and optimal chemotherapy for early breast cancer.

Davidson has been actively involved in the AACR since 1988. She is an editorial board member of Cancer Prevention Research and has served on numerous other boards and committees, the most recent of which are: member of the AACR Distinguished Lectureship in Breast Cancer Research Award Committee (2012); chair (2011) and member (2010) of the Nominating Committee; member of the AACR Outstanding Investigator Award for Breast Cancer Research Committee (2010); member of the Continuing Medical Education Committee (2009-2014); chair of the Breast Cancer Research Foundation-AACR Grants for Translational Breast Cancer Research Scientific Review Committee (2009); member of the Dorothy P. Landon-AACR Prize for Translational Cancer Research Committee (2009); chair (2008-2010) and member (2005) of the Research Grant Review Committee; member of the Stand Up To Cancer Innovative Research Grants Scientific Review Committee (2008-2009); member of the Scientific Program Committee for the AACR International Conference on Frontiers in Cancer Prevention Research (2008); and member of the AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research Committee (2005). She was elected by the membership to the AACR board of directors (2002-2005).

She has been recognized with myriad honors and awards throughout her career, including the AACR-Women in Cancer Research Charlotte Friend Memorial Lectureship and is an elected member of the National Academy of Medicine, the Association of American Physicians, and the American College of Physicians.

Davidson is also a past president and former board member of the American Society of Clinical Oncology and is a member of the scientific advisory boards of many foundations and cancer centers.

Prior to joining the University of Pittsburgh in 2009, Davidson was professor of oncology at Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine in Baltimore and director of the Breast Cancer Program at Johns Hopkins Oncology Center. Early in her career, she was a research assistant professor of pharmacology at the Uniformed Services University of Health Sciences.Davidson received a bachelor’s degree in molecular biology from Wellesley College in Wellesley, Massachusetts, and a medical degree from Harvard Medical School in Boston. She completed an internship at the Hospital of the University of Pennsylvania in Philadelphia and her residency at Johns Hopkins Hospital. She also served as a medical staff fellow at the National Cancer Institute.

Additionally, Michael A. Caligiuri, MD, director of The Ohio State University Comprehensive Cancer Center and CEO of the Arthur G. James Cancer Hospital and Richard J. Solove Research Institute in Columbus, was inducted as President-Elect. José Baselga, MD, PhD, physician-in-chief and chief medical officer at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center in New York, now serves as Past President.