• Home
  • AACR-American Cancer Society Award for Research Excellence in Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention

AACR-American Cancer Society Award for Research Excellence in Cancer Epidemiology and Prevention Recipients

This award recognizes outstanding research accomplishments in cancer epidemiology, biomarkers, and prevention.

Leslie Bernstein28th Award Recipient
Leslie Bernstein, PhD
Professor, Division of Biomarkers of Early Detection and Prevention
Department of Population Sciences
Beckman Research Institute of the City of Hope
City of Hope Comprehensive Cancer Center
Duarte, California

Dr. Bernstein delivered her lecture entitled "Evolving Approaches in Cancer Epidemiology: Time, Serendipity, and Risk" on Tuesday, April 17, 2018 at the McCormick Place Convention Center in Chicago, Illinois.

The AACR and American Cancer Society established this award in 1992 to honor outstanding research accomplishments in cancer epidemiology and prevention. The 2018 AACR-ACS Award recipient will embody the traditions of scientific accomplishments represented by this award and its previous recipients.

Leslie Bernstein, PhD is recognized for her impactful research in the field of cancer epidemiology and prevention. She is also honored for pivotal contributions in showing the impact that lifestyle and reproductive factors have on breast cancer risk and survival.

Dr. Bernstein’s pioneering research established weight maintenance and physical activity as important ways for women to modify their risk of breast cancer. Notably, she also furthered our understanding of the role of exogenous hormones in breast cancer risk. Her significant research contributions to the prevention of other cancers, such as non-Hodgkin lymphoma, and esophageal adenocarcinoma, are also recognized.

Dr. Bernstein worked from 1978 (as a PhD student) through 2007 in the Department of Preventive Medicine at USC’s Keck School of Medicine where she was a tenured professor and held the AFLAC Inc., Endowed Chair in Cancer Research. She served as the medical school’s senior associate dean for faculty affairs, as USC’s vice provost for medical affairs and as scientific director for the Los Angeles County Cancer Surveillance Program. In 2007, Dr. Bernstein moved her research program to City of Hope, currently serving as professor. She also served as dean for faculty affairs and interim chair of the Department of Population Sciences until 2015, director of the Division of Cancer Etiology through 2016.

Dr. Bernstein has received multiple honors and awards for her research including, AACR-Prevent Cancer Award, Susan G. Komen for the Cure Brinker Award, American Society for Preventive Oncology Distinguished Achievement Award, and NCI’s Rosalind E. Franklin Award. For her contributions to epidemiology as an educator, mentor, and role model, she received the American College of Epidemiology Abraham Lilienfeld Award, the Ron Ross Award at the PacRim Breast and Prostate Cancer Meeting, and City of Hope’s first Mentor of the Year award. 

Dr. Bernstein also received the Presidential Medallion, USC’s highest honor, and the Elaine Stevely Hoffman Award for her dedicated service to the USC Keck School of Medicine. Nationally and internationally she is known for her willingness to mentor others in their pursuit of successful academic careers.

Leslie Bernstein PhD receives award.jpg

Award Recipients:

  • 2017: Meir J. Stampfer
  • 2016: Richard S. Peto
  • 2015: Mitchell H. Gail
  • 2014: Curtis C. Harris
  • 2013: Laurence N. Kolonel
  • 2012: Graham A. Colditz
  • 2011: John T. Schiller
  • 2010: Michael J. Thun
  • 2009: John D. Potter 
  • 2008: Robert N. Hoover 
  • 2007: Thomas W. Kensler 
  • 2006: Nicholas Edward Day
  • 2005: Ross L. Prentice
  • 2004: Malcolm C. Pike
  • 2003: Martin J. Blaser
  • 2002: Margaret R. Spitz
  • 2001: I. Bernard Weinstein
  • 2000: Walter C. Willett
  • 1999: Alice S. Whittemore
  • 1998: Ernst L. Wynder
  • 1997: Henry T. Lynch
  • 1996: Lee W. Wattenberg
  • 1995 - Frederick P. Li
  • 1994: Brian E. Henderson
  • 1993: Joseph F. Fraumeni Jr.
  • 1992: Pelayo Correa