• Home
  • AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research

AACR-Joseph H. Burchenal Memorial Award for Outstanding Achievement in Clinical Cancer Research Recipients

This award recognizes outstanding achievements in clinical cancer research.

23rd Award Recipient
Johann S. de Bono, MD, PhD
Regius Professor of Cancer Research
Professor, Experimental Cancer Medicine & Honorary
Consultant in Medical Oncology
The Institute of Cancer Research and Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust,  

Dr. de Bono delivered his award lecture titled "Re-envisioning Clinical Cancer Research" at the AACR Annual Meeting 2018 in Chicago, Illinois. The award presentation and lecture was held Tuesday, April 17, 2018, at the McCormick Place North/South Convention Center. 

The Joseph H. Burchenal Memorial Award was established in 1996 to recognize outstanding achievements in the field of clinical cancer research. It is named for the late Dr. Joseph H. Burchenal, honorary member and past president of the American Association for Cancer Research and pioneer in the development of chemotherapeutics for the treatment of cancer.

Johann S. de Bono, MD, PhD, is honored for seminal contributions to the field of clinical cancer research. His pioneering work has led to numerous drug approvals, including abiraterone, carbazitaxel, olaparib, and afatinib. Notably, his hypothesis-driven approach changed the way we view the biology of late-stage prostate cancer and provided the first clinical exemplification of synthetic lethality.

Dr. de Bono is a professor in experimental cancer medicine at The Institute of Cancer Research and The Royal Marsden NHS Foundation Trust. He is also the director of The Drug Development Unit, overseeing the conduct of phase I trials with a particular interest in innovative trial designs, circulating biomarkers, and prostate cancer. Additionally, he leads the Prostate Cancer Targeted Therapy Clinical Trials Team and the Cancer Biomarkers Laboratory Team.

Dr. de Bono graduated from the University of Glasgow medical school in 1989, graduating as a member of the Royal College of Physicians (MRCP) in 1992. He was awarded a four-year Cancer Research Campaign Clinical Fellowship, which allowed him to pursue a PhD between 1993 and 1997. He trained in medical oncology, and was awarded an MSc (Cancer Sciences) from Glasgow University. He then was awarded a Royal College of Physicians scholarship to work at the SWOG Statistical Headquarters in Seattle. Following this he worked in San Antonio for three years between 2000-2003 at The Institute of Drug Development where he was awarded a Doris Duke Clinician-Scientist.

In 2003, he was elected a fellow of the Royal College of Physicians, and in 2009, he was elected as a member of the Malta Order of Merit. Dr. de Bono received the ESMO Award in 2012 and was part of the ICR/RMH team awarded the AACR Team Science Award. He also received an award from the Royal Society of Chemistry for his team’s work in developing abiraterone.

In 2016, he was named Regius professor of cancer research, a rare award bestowed by the Sovereign in the UK by Royal Warrant to recognize exceptionally high-quality research at an Institution.

Johann de Bono receives award.jpg

Award Recipients

  • 2017: Judy E. Garber
  • 2016: John C. Byrd
  • 2015: Elizabeth M. Jaffee
  • 2014: John F. DiPersio
  • 2013: Hagop M. Kantarjian
  • 2012: Lawrence H. Einhorn
  • 2011: Ching-Hon Pui
  • 2010: Henry T. Lynch
  • 2009: W. Marston Linehan
  • 2008: Joseph R. Bertino
  • 2007: Kenneth C. Anderson 
  • 2006: Merrill J. Egorin
  • 2005: Jimmie C. Holland
  • 2004: Clara D. Bloomfield
  • 2003: David S. Alberts
  • 2002: Lee M. Nadler
  • 2001: Rainer F. Storb
  • 2000: Waun Ki Hong
  • 1999: John Mendelsohn
  • 1998: Bernard Fisher
  • 1997: Ronald Levy
  • 1996: Samuel A. Wells Jr.