• Home
  • AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Research

AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Research Recipients

This award recognizes a young investigator (not more than 40 years of age) on the basis of meritorious achievement in cancer research.

Franziska Michor, PhD36th Annual Award Recipient
Franziska Michor, PhD
Professor of Computational Biology
Department of Biostatistics and Computational Biology
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachusetts

Dr. Michor delivered her award lecture titled "Biology and Dynamics of Cancer Evolution" at the Annual Meeting 2016 in New Orleans, Louisiana. The award lecture was held Sunday, April 17, 2016, at the Morial Convention Center.

Since 1979, the AACR Award for Outstanding Achievement in Cancer Research has been given to a young investigator no more than 40 years of age, to recognize his or her meritorious achievements within the field of cancer research.

Franziska Michor, PhD, is honored for her groundbreaking discoveries in the field of cancer biology. Her development of mathematical models to answer important, clinically relevant questions pertinent to tumor development, metastasis, and treatment, has generated remarkable mathematical insights that will influence our understanding of cancer.

Dr. Michor’s independent research career, while still in its early stages, is already characterized by novelty and scientific rigor, which is enhanced by her incredible ability to amalgamate mathematical and biological science to a clinically relevant and beneficial endpoint.

Dr. Michor is a professor of computational biology in the Department of Biostatistics and Computational Biology at the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, and in the Department of Biostatistics at the Harvard T.H. Chan School of Public Health. Dr. Michor obtained her undergraduate training in mathematics and molecular biology from the University of Vienna, Austria, and her doctorate from the Department of Organismic and Evolutionary Biology at Harvard University. Afterward, she was awarded a fellowship from the Harvard Society of Fellows. From 2007 until 2010, she was an assistant professor in the Computational Biology Program at Memorial Sloan Kettering Cancer Center. She has been at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute since 2010.

Dr. Michor is the director of the Dana-Farber Cancer Institute Physical Sciences-Oncology Center and the Center for Cancer Evolution. She has been the recipient of the Theodosius Dobzhansky Prize of the Society for the Study of Evolution, the Alice Hamilton Award from Harvard University, the Vilcek Prize for Creative Promise in Biomedical Science, the NYSCF Robertson Stem Cell Prize, among others. Dr. Michor's laboratory investigates the evolutionary dynamics of cancer initiation, progression, response to therapy, and emergence of resistance.

Award Recipients

  • 2016: Franziska Michor
  • 2015: Christopher R. Vakoc
  • 2014: Nima Sharifi
  • 2013: Roger S. Lo
  • 2012: Yibin Kang
  • 2011: Nathanael S. Gray
  • 2010: Joshua T. Mendell
  • 2009: Victor E. Velculescu 
  • 2008: Arul Chinnaiyan 
  • 2007: Kornelia Polyak 
  • 2006: Ivan Dikic
  • 2005: Gregory J. Hannon
  • 2004: Xiaodong Wang
  • 2003: not presented
  • 2002: Todd R. Golub
  • 2001: Scott W. Lowe
  • 2000: Nikola P. Pavletich
  • 1999: John Kuriyan
  • 1998: Michael C. Dean
  • 1997: Tyler Jacks
  • 1996: Carol W. Greider
  • 1995: Eric S. Lander
  • 1994: Igor B. Roninson
  • 1993: Tom Curran
  • 1992: Elizabeth J. Robertson
  • 1991: Richard C. Mulligan
  • 1990: Ronald M. Evans
  • 1989: Bert Vogelstein
  • 1988: Webster K. Cavenee
  • 1987: Peter M. Blumberg
  • 1986: Mariano Barbacid
  • 1985: Lance A. Liotta
  • 1984: Charles D. Stiles
  • 1983: Susan Astrin
  • 1982: Stuart A. Aaronson
  • 1981: Yung-Chi Cheng
  • 1980: Malcolm A. S. Moore