• Home
  • Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Extraordinary Achievement in Cancer Research

Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Extraordinary Achievement in Cancer Research Recipients

This award is presented to a scientist of international renown who has made a major scientific discovery in basic or translational cancer research.

Tony Hunter21st Award Recipient
Tony Hunter, PhD, FAACR
Renato Dulbecco Chair
American Cancer Society Professor
The Salk Institute
La Jolla, California

Dr. Hunter delivered his award lecture titled "Protein phosphorylation: Pancreatic cancer and new frontiers in histidine phosphorylation" at the AACR Annual Meeting 2018 in Chicago, Illinois. The award lecture was held Sunday, April 15, 2018, in the McCormick North/South Convention Center.

The Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award  for Extraordinary Achievement in Cancer Research was established in 1997 to recognize a scientist who has made a major scientific discovery in basic cancer research, or who has made significant contributions to translational cancer research; who continues to be active in cancer research, and has a record of recent and noteworthy publications; and whose ongoing work holds promise for continued substantive contributions to progress in the field of cancer.

Tony Hunter, PhD, is honored for his significant discovery of tyrosine kinases. This pioneering work has led to proven success in the usage of cancer chemotherapeutics that target disease-causing tyrosine kinases. Furthermore, Dr. Hunter is credited with being the first to demonstrate that dysregulated tyrosine phosphorylation by activated tyrosine kinases, such as the viral Src protein, can cause malignant transformation.

Dr. Hunter’s highly regarded work has led to the discovery and development of many effective drugs targeting aberrant kinase signaling in cancer cells.

Dr. Hunter received his BA and PhD from the University of Cambridge, England, and completed postdoctoral training at the Salk Institute for Biological Studies and the University of Cambridge. Hunter is the Renato Dulbecco chair in cancer research, and an American Cancer Society professor in the Molecular and Cell Biology Laboratory at the Salk Institute.

Dr. Hunter has received many awards for his work on tyrosine phosphorylation, including a Gairdner International Award, the Louisa Gross Horwitz Prize, the Wolf Prize in Medicine, the Royal Medal of the Royal Society, and most recently the Sjöberg Prize for Cancer Research. He is a fellow of the Royal Society of London and the American Association for Cancer Research Academy, and a member of the U.S. National Academy of Sciences, the European Molecular Biology Organization, the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, the National Academy Medicine, and the American Philosophical Society.

Dr. Hunter is a Fellow of the AACR Academy.

2018 Pezcoller Foundation-AACR Award Presentation.jpg

Award Recipients

  • 2017: David M. Livingston
  • 2016: Joan Massagué
  • 2015: James P. Allison
  • 2014: Elaine Fuchs
  • 2013: Peter K. Vogt
  • 2012: Robert A. Weinberg
  • 2011: Pier Paolo Pandolfi
  • 2010: Joseph Schlessinger
  • 2009: Napoleone Ferrara 
  • 2008: Axel Ullrich 
  • 2007: Mina J. Bissell
  • 2006: Tadatsugu Taniguchi
  • 2005: Lewis C. Cantley
  • 2004: Stanley J. Korsmeyer
  • 2003: Mario Capecchi
  • 2002: Carl-Henrik Heldin
  • 2001: Elizabeth H. Blackburn
  • 2000: Charles J. Sherr
  • 1999: Carlo M. Croce
  • 1998: Anthony J. Pawson