AACR Outstanding Investigator Award for Breast Cancer Research, supported by The Breast Cancer Research Foundation Recipients

This award recognizes a scientist whose novel and significant work has had or may have a far-reaching impact on the etiology, detection, diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of breast cancer.

2018 Award Recipient
Ann Partridge, MD, MPH
Dana-Farber Cancer Institute
Boston, Massachusetts

The AACR Outstanding Investigator Award for Breast Cancer Research, supported by The Breast Cancer Research Foundation, recognizes an investigator of no more than 50 years of age whose novel and significant work has had or may have a far-reaching impact on the etiology, detection, diagnosis, treatment, or prevention of breast cancer. Such work may involve any discipline across the continuum of biomedical research, including basic, translational, clinical and epidemiological studies.

Dr. Partridge is a professor of medicine at Harvard Medical School, and vice chair of medical oncology at Dana-Farber Cancer Institute, where she also serves as director of the Adult Survivorship Program and leads the Program for Young Women with Breast Cancer. As a medical oncologist and clinical researcher, she has sought to improve the care and outcomes of patients with cancer by conducting research, and by developing innovative clinical programming.

Dr. Partridge's most substantial research contributions focus on the clinical epidemiology of breast cancer in young women, conducting seminal work aiming to understand and improve their care and outcomes.  She established and serves as PI for the Young Women's Breast Cancer Study (YWS), a multi-institutional cohort of young women with breast cancer which enrolled 1300 women age 40 and young at diagnosis. Dr. Partridge and her team have characterized a range of issues of young breast cancer survivors, including the impact of treatment on fertility, adherence with hormonal therapy, psychological adaptation to the diagnosis including impact of treatment on sexual functioning, and the factors that play an important role in patient decision-making.  More recently, she has collaborated with basic investigators to identify molecular differences in tumors found in young patients and identify potential biomarkers of long-term effects.

Dr. Partridge serves in leadership roles nationally and internationally. She is co-chair of the Breast Committee of the Alliance for Clinical Trials in Oncology, was chair of the scientific program committee for the 2018 American Society of Clinical Oncology (ASCO) Annual Meeting, co-chairs the biennial ESMO-ESO sponsored Breast Cancer in Young Women Conference and served as chair of the Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Advisory Committee on Breast Cancer in Young Women from 2010-17. She has received prior awards and grants including a Champions of Change award from the White House, an ASCO Improving Cancer Care Grant, the CDC Carol Friedman Award, and the Edward J. Benz Jr. Award for Advancing the Careers of Women Faculty. 

After graduating from Georgetown University, Dr. Partridge received her medical degree from Cornell University Medical College, pursued an internal medicine residency at the Hospital for the University of Pennsylvania, and completed Medical Oncology and Hematology fellowship at Dana-Farber/Partners CancerCare.  She earned a Master of Public Health degree at the Harvard School of Public Health.

 Award Recipients

  • 2017: Nicholas C. Turner
  • 2016: Fergus J. Couch
  • 2015: Mohamed Bentires-Alj
  • 2014: Yiban Kang
  • 2013: Jason S. Carroll
  • 2012: Kornelia Polyak
  • 2011: Ramon E. Parsons
  • 2010: Klaus Pantel
  • 2009: Charles M. Perou
  • 2008: Douglas Easton