​AACR Project GENIE: Governance

The project is governed by a steering committee, with a representative from each of the participating institutions, one of whom is chairperson. The chairperson is elected to a two-year term by the steering committee. The AACR chief executive officer or his or her designee, the AACR president or his or her designee, and a member of the AACR Science Policy and Government Affairs and Clinical and Translational Cancer Research Committees also serve on the project steering committee. The steering committee reports to an external advisory board, and the AACR board of directors.

Steering Committee

  • Charles L. Sawyers, MD, Chairperson 2015-2017
  • Elizabeth M. Jaffee, MD (2017 - 2019)
  • Fabrice André, MD, PhD
  • Philippe Bedard, MD
  • Raymond N. DuBois, MD, PhD
  • Margaret Foti, PhD (hc)
  • Mia A. Levy, MD, PhD
  • Gerrit A. Meijer, MD, PhD
  • Barrett J. Rollins, MD, PhD
  • Laura J. van ’t Veer, PhD
  • Victor E. Velculescu, MD, PhD
  • Marilyn Li, MD
  • Jeremy P. Segal, MD, PhD
  • Michael Datto, MD, PhD
  • Umit Topaloglu, PhD
  • Richard D. Carvajal, MD
  • Thomas D. Brown, MD, MBA
  • Walter J. Urba, MD, PhD
  • Birgit Nimmervoll, PhD
  • Rodrigo Dienstamm, MD
  • Eric Alejandro Sweet-Cordero, MD
  • Janina A. Longtine, MD


  • Data Use and Publications
  • Membership and Participation
  • Pediatric Oncology
  • Operations Committee

Coordinating Center

  • Shawn M. Sweeney, PhD
  • Jocelyn A. Lee, PhD
  • Seth Sheffler-Collins
  • Nicole M. Peters