Arul M. Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD, FAACR
James S. Ewing-Thelma B. Dunn Award for Outstanding Achievement In Pathology In Cancer Research

Arul M. Chinnaiyan, MD, PhD, FAACR

Director, Michigan Center for Translational Pathology
S.P. Hicks Endowed Professor of Pathology and Urology
American Cancer Society Research Professor
Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute
Ann Arbor, Michigan

For illuminating research contributions to defining the links between chromosomal abnormalities and cancer including his discovery of TMPRSS2-ETS gene fusions in prostate cancer, and for pioneering the use of pathological and bioinformatic methodologies to diagnose and track prostate cancer onset and progression.

The AACR established this award in 2021 in honor of James S. Ewing, MD and Thelma B. Dunn, MD. Dr. Ewing, often referred to as the “Chief of Cancer Pathology,” is best known for his discovery of Ewing sarcoma. Notably, Dr. Ewing was also one of the AACR’s 11 founding members in 1907 and served as the first AACR President from 1907-1909. Over fifty years later, in 1961, Dr. Dunn was elected as the first female AACR President. Dr. Dunn is renowned for her innovative efforts to promote the use of animal models in cancer research and for her development of transplantable mouse mast-cell tumor lines, which have been widely used to advance cancer research. Today, pathologists continue to build upon the legacy of these two quintessential pioneers through their cancer research contributions directed toward advancing our knowledge of cancer through basic, translational, and clinical pathology research.

This award is intended to recognize and celebrate pathologists who have significantly contributed to advancing cancer research, diagnosis, treatment, and prevention. This annual award also serves to underscore the AACR’s ongoing commitment to the growth and support of pathologists worldwide who are engaged in basic, translational, and clinical cancer research. To learn more please visit the press release.

View Dr Chinnaiyan’s Fellow of AACR Academy page.

View Past Recipients.