Elaine Fuchs, PhD, FAACR

Elaine Fuchs, PhD, FAACR

The Rockefeller University

Goals for the AACR

In the past four decades, the AACR has grown enormously, both in membership and importance. During this time, I have worked at the interface between basic and clinical cancer research. As importantly, I have been a strong advocate for the importance of diversity, mentoring, and the involvement of younger scientists in our community. At the crossroads of government policy, and basic and clinical research, the AACR has a responsibility to make sure that its leaders are strong role models. While working to shape policy and expedite the war on cancer, the AACR’s Board of Directors must also actively engage all its constituents to ensure a vibrant AACR future for years to come.

Research Interests

In vitro studies with classical genetics, RNAi, and CRISPR-Cas technologies in mice to study the biology of skin stem cells; high-throughput genomics, single-cell sequencing, live imaging, cell biology, and functional approaches to unravel the pathways that balance stem cell maintenance and differentiation and exploration of aberrant routes in aging and cancers.

Current Affiliations

Rebecca C. Lancefield Professor, Laboratory of Mammalian Cell Biology and Development; Investigator, Howard Hughes Medical Institute, The Rockefeller University, New York, New York.

Previous Positions

Investigator (1993-2002) and Associate Investigator (1988-1993), Howard Hughes Medical Institute; Amgen Professor of Basic Sciences (1993-2002); Professor (1989-1993) and Associate Professor (1985-1988), Departments of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology, and Molecular Genetics and Cell Biology; Assistant Professor, Department of Biochemistry (1980-1985), The University of Chicago, Chicago, Illinois.

Postdoctoral Training

Postdoctoral Fellow, Massachusetts Institute of Technology (1977-1980), Cambridge, Massachusetts.

Selected AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Fellow of the AACR Academy (Inaugural Class 2013); Recipient, AACR-G.H.A. Clowes Memorial Award (2019); Member, AACR Academy Steering Committee (2019-present); Member, AACR Award for Lifetime Achievement in Cancer Research Committee (2018-2020); Chair, AACR Princess Takamatsu Memorial Lectureship Award Committee (2016-2017); Recipient, Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Extraordinary Achievement in Cancer Research (2014); Member, Council of Scientific Advisors (2013); Member, Nominating Committee (2007-2009); Chair, AACR Laboratory Research Awards Committee (2008); Member, Pezcoller Foundation-AACR International Award for Cancer Research Committee (2007).

Selected Non-AACR Service, Honors, and Awards

Recipient, Shacknai Award in Immunology and Cancer Research, Hebrew University (2020); Elected Foreign Member, Royal Society (2019); Member, Board of Trustees, Cold Spring Harbor Laboratories (2019-present); Elected Member, National Academy of Inventors (2019); Recipient, 39th International Princess Takamatsu Cancer Research Fund Lecture (Japan) (2019); Appointee (by Pope Francis), Pontifical Academy of Sciences (2018); Recipient, McEwen Award for Innovation, International Society for Stem Cell Research (2017); Recipient, Vanderbilt Prize (2017); Recipient, Honorary Doctorate in Science, Harvard University (2016); Recipient, EB Wilson Award, American Society of Cell Biology (2015); Recipient, Honorary Doctorate in Science, Albany Medical College (2015); Recipient, Pasarow Award for Cancer Research (2013); Recipient, March of Dimes Prize in Developmental Biology (2012); Recipient, Albany Prize in Medicine (2011); EMBO Foreign Member (equivalent of the European National Academy of Sciences) (2010-present); Recipient, National Medal of Science from the President of the U.S. (2009); Recipient, L’Oreal UNESCO Award For Women in Science (2010); Elected Member, American Philosophical Society (2005); Recipient, Richard Lounsbery Award, National Academy of Sciences (2001); Elected Member, National Academy of Sciences (1996); Elected Member, National Academy of Medicine (1994).


PhD, Biochemistry, Princeton University, Princeton, New Jersey (1977); BS, Chemistry, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign, Illinois (1972).